And Therein Stems My Self-Hate

October 13, 2010 § 2 Comments

I was a child, I was a young woman
I was scared but still should have known better

Torn between the worst of extremes
Unaware of what it would do to both you and me

I lied thinking I was protecting
Having no idea of the danger I was projecting

And I knew the men in suits didn’t buy it
And I knew their hands were as tied as mine

And therein stems my self-hate
And therein lies all of my regret

I could live with it being left at my feet
But that he did worse to you, I am replete

With guilt, remorse and shame
I feel like the only one to blame

And therein stems my self-loathing
And therein lies all my self doubt

That I’m still too scared to right this wrong
That I still feel like I won’t be believed

I may as well still be fifteen

§ 2 Responses to And Therein Stems My Self-Hate

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading And Therein Stems My Self-Hate at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

