A Big Pile O’ Dirt

October 16, 2010 § 3 Comments

Remember back in June, some enterprising (hard up for cash) young men came and helped build a garden wall for my maple?

Well, it only took 4 1/2 months to get around to it but yesterday we finally got this delivered…


Yep, a big pile of dirt dropped right onto our driveway.  Our neighbours, the ones across the street having the open house this afternoon, were not so impressed.

Anywho, the kids and I filled and hauled wheelbarrow after wheelbarrow across the lawn…


I know it doesn’t LOOK very far and in reality it’s not but when you’re not used to intense physical labour and you’re wheeling a barrow full of damp dirt back and forth like that for a few hours…it begins to feel farther and farther.

Daughter begged out after an hour of shoveling, Son went and lied down after two hours and by the middle of the third hour I was delighted to see Hubby had returned from the hardware store…no doubt he lingered.  😉

Hubby and I got going on it again and Son eventually made his way back out to help finish up.  We never did see Daughter again.  All told it took about 4 hours to finally weedle down that pile…


and fill in the bed.  These pics were taken about 3/4 of the way through, in between losing Son and Hubby returning…taking pictures of our handiwork made me feel more productive than leaning on my shovel and sighing.

Now, the trick is to turn that beautiful bed into a beautiful garden next Spring.  Because the truth is, I’m still a novice at this gardening thing and I really don’t know what I’m doing.

This is the first time I’m planting bulbs.  So far all my experience has been either existing plants that are just there and growing veggies from seeds which only take weeks to start showing signs of life.

So, I’m approaching it the same way I would a piece of garb I’ve never made before.  I imagine what I want, I draw pictures of what I imagine, I research what I don’t know, I buy what I need and then I just do it.


It just sucks that I have to wait until Spring to see how it all turns out.  Ummm no, patience isn’t a strong suit of mine, though procrastination is…huh, go figure.   😀

§ 3 Responses to A Big Pile O’ Dirt

  • Cate says:

    Well you know that all of your talk about this garden months ago inspired me to whack in a heap of bulbs under an old tree – and they have all flowered and look lovely!
    Of course, there was no planning whatsoever – I just cleared the plot and put them where-ever. But it does make me smile to see them 🙂

  • Sheri says:

    Thanks Cate! It’s always nice to know when you’ve inspired someone else.

    I’m glad you have lovely tree garden, I’d love to see a pic. 😀

    I can’t wait to see how mine turns out.

  • […] the staff actually know about plants and stuff.  She helped me pick out some pierrenials for my Under the Tree garden.  I got some hosta, ferns, dwarf goat’s beard, and some other stuff that I […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Big Pile O’ Dirt at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

