About Self-Improvement

October 17, 2010 § 2 Comments

I’ve spent most my life trying to be better
I’ve struggled with self-esteem as long as I can remember

I waged war with an internal voice
That echoed not good enough
I thought that trying prove it wrong
Is what defined me as tough

But what if I’m okay with crying when I am moved
And what if I can live with sometimes being in a mood

I let everyone else get away with theirs
And am even sympathetic, offering them tea or ice cream
Or just an ear and some company

There’s so many things I could do
With the time I spend trying to be better, trying to improve
Carrying remorse that I’m not already there
Is a weight so difficult to bear

What if I just loved myself for me, right now, right here
And trust that I’ll be better tomorrow

What if I just let go of the idea of self-improvement
And applied a good dose of self-appreciation

And see if that doesn’t make a difference

§ 2 Responses to About Self-Improvement

  • Cate says:

    Oooh – now there’s a challenge to us all….

    “What if I just let go of the idea of self-improvement
    And applied a good dose of self-appreciation”

  • Sheri says:

    Thanks Cate. It’s a switch up for sure…but I’m going to make a concerted effort to ease up on myself.

    😀

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading About Self-Improvement at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

