Post-Mommy Blues

October 19, 2010 § 2 Comments

Nothing says I don’t need you to do that for me anymore like your child saying,

“I don’t need you to do that for me anymore.”

Ouch.

But I want to do it, I don’t mind doing it, doing it is part of my self-definition, if I don’t have that to do, what the hell am I going to do with my time?

“I dunno, get a job or something?”

I made that last bit up but that’s what I read from the look on my kid’s face.  *sigh*

I so wish I could be happier about reaching this parenting milestone.  You know, the one that seems light years away when they’re in diapers and toddling around.  The one that feels still beyond reach when they’re 8 and 10. The one that can’t come soon enough when they’re 14.

I imagined a fancy dress party, a big band, champagne and lots of dancing.  Okay, not really.  But I did imagine feeling much more focused and less like I’m just ambling.  I did think that I wouldn’t be the least bit put off by my kids not needing me and that I would welcome it with open arms.  Bahahahaha

And it’s not that I want to start over again, though I sometimes have to argue with my biological clock on that issue, especially when I’m at the grocery store and all those cute little babies faces start smiling at me.

It’s not that I wish they were babies or little kids again, I absolutely love being able to interact with my kids on a more adult level.  It’s just that it went by so fast and I know I didn’t appreciate every moment I could have.

Please tell me I’m not the only one who’s going through these post-Mommy blues.

§ 2 Responses to Post-Mommy Blues

  • Cate says:

    Oh girl, you KNOW that I am right there with you on this one!!

    Keep sewing!!!

  • Sheri says:

    Thanks Cate! I know, but sometimes a reminder that I’m not alone in this is nice. 😀

    I think I’ll be putting the sewing on hold until I get this scarf done. 500 is a heck of a lot of rows.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Post-Mommy Blues at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

