Okay, See Ya!

October 23, 2010 § 2 Comments

And that was that!

Son’s first day at college.  *SIGH*

He was a little nervous and worried about not being able to find his class so I jumped at casually offered to take him up.  We went a little early in case my memory isn’t all I think it is, I only wandered the halls for a couple of years and that was a loooooooong time ago.

Anyway, we found the classroom that was marked on his timetable and sat around a few minutes.  I commented that if no one showed up after 15 min or so, we could wander around and ask someone.

Son:  Cool.

Five minutes later a young man (lord, that’s how old I feel – the guy was probably like 5 years younger than me)…anyway, this dude showed up and asked if we were there for the Bartending class.

Son: Yes, Sir.

Then he turned his big brown eyes to me, smiled a wicked grin and said…

“Okay, see ya!”

as he turned his back and skipped walked away from his Mommy into the classroom.

As I walked down the halls back to the car I thought about my time there.  I was 20 and Son was four, living with his father.  It was as close to the typical college experience as I was going to get.

I made new friends, I partied, I studied for exams and passed tests, I partied, I skipped and failed classes, I partied.  Except for every other weekend when I went back into full-time Mommy mode.

In the end I never did finish college.  For a lot of reasons but mostly because my Son needed me more than I needed a piece of paper to tell me I was qualified to teach Drama.  Anyone who knows me, knows I was BORN qualified.  😀

So, as I was trying not to get lost and make my way back to the reality that I still had the weekly groceries to do, I smiled a big smile for both of us.  It wasn’t an easy road, I really would never recommend it, but we both came through okay.

In my mind, the fact that we’re still on it together speaks volumes.  That Son still wants me in his life and that I’m still able to be here for him is a blessing and we both know it.

I was totally fine with the “Okay, See Ya!” because I knew he meant it and he was taking it for granted.  What more can a parent and child want from each other?

§ 2 Responses to Okay, See Ya!

  • Cate says:

    Aw – this is lovely. You have come so far, and now here’s your boy heading into a college course.

    Wonderful.

  • Sheri says:

    Thanks Cate! Yes, it is pretty wonderful. I’m just so glad that I can find myself appreciating more than I’m lamenting it. 😀

    P.S. Have you checked your hotmail lately…I’ve sent a couple of e-mails.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Okay, See Ya! at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

