Appreciating the Very Small, Minute, Barely Visible Things

October 24, 2010 § 2 Comments

Lately I been trying very hard to let go of my usual “trying to overcome” attitude and replacing it with a much simpler “love where I am” take.

It’s not easy.  After some 20 odd years of just trying to survive, adjusting to the normalcy of my current existence has taken the better part of a decade.

Still, I can tell I’m doing something right.  I am beginning to see signs of growth…sprouting as it were.

Lately, I’ve been singing.  Just random little pieces of music…some familiar and some purely made up by me on the spur.

I’m smiling and laughing way more than usual, even cracking some real zingers of my own and being delighted to the core that I made someone else belly laugh.

Most importantly, I’m appreciating – as in being really, truly grateful for – small things like my muffins turning out perfectly, a chikadee at my birdfeeder and that someone remembered to change the toilet roll.

It’s a big world and there’s so much to be grateful for.  I spent so long living in fear, unable to appreciate the wonders of the universe that I just forgot they were out there.

Smiling and being content allows me the opportunity to remember them with joy and excitement.

§ 2 Responses to Appreciating the Very Small, Minute, Barely Visible Things

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Appreciating the Very Small, Minute, Barely Visible Things at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

