I Was 14 in 1985

October 25, 2010 § 3 Comments

My upcoming birthday has me thinking a lot about approaching 40.

Next month I turn 39 and though more often than not I feel much older than those years, every now and again I can appreciate how young I still am.

This weekend Hubby took Daughter to the 25th Anniversary re-release of Back to the Future,  select theatres across the city are showing it for a limited time.

25 years ago my sister, a friend and I went to see it, it was the first movie we went to see without an adult.  On many levels it was a right of passage.

Along with creating a sense of independence, fueling my teenage love for Michael J. Fox (I was already crushing on him as Alex from Family Ties), it also planted the first seeds of my interest in science fiction.

Oooooh, time travel.

Anyway, it just reminds me that I’m not as far away from my youth as I might think.  More than any previous generation, I have the luxury and power to relive the best of my past at my discretion.

And though I don’t have a DeLorean with a flux capacitor to take me back to 1985, I do have a world of media at my fingertips to help remind me what it felt like, anytime of day or night.

Makes me wonder what it’ll be like for Daughter, who is 15 now, in 2035.

§ 3 Responses to I Was 14 in 1985

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I Was 14 in 1985 at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

