Who Am I Supposed To Be?

November 2, 2010 § 4 Comments

I’ve been an insolent child
Who knew more than she should

Who challenged dysfunctional adults
Even when I knew it would do no good

I’ve been an angry young woman
Who managed to get things done

Who raised a child all by herself
Even when all the odds played against

And I’ve lived an experience I’d rather be without
And I’ve written books worth of poetry about

It’s sad to me that all these years later
That I should still be filled with such doubt


When I have more than I could have ever dreamed
What the hell am I still crying about

Who am I supposed to be
When I’ve been all I can and care to be

When I’ve been there done that bought the t-shirt
There is no responsibility left to unskirt

I faced, stood up to and met the challenge
I have nothing left to prove

So now, who am I supposed to be?

 

§ 4 Responses to Who Am I Supposed To Be?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Who Am I Supposed To Be? at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

