Simple Inspiration

November 6, 2010 § 9 Comments

We went shopping for a bookshelf for Daughter at our local swedish furniture store.  It was a zoo in there and frankly, I can think of a million things I’d rather be doing on a Saturday afternoon.  Anyway, it was a chore that needed doing because if I trip over one more pile of books someone’s going to get hurt…and I mean me.

Still, it wasn’t a total headache because along with finding a decent bookshelf for a reasonable price, Hubby actually stopped to take a gander at the following item that I have been hinting I would like for my birthday…

It’s a glazed cast iron pot.  Isn’t she a beaut?  Of course I had to try ‘er out right away and so for dinner tonight, we’re having…


Pot Roast!   Mmmmmm.  I don’t have an exact recipe because I just kind of threw a bunch of stuff together…and it’s still cooking.


Red wine, worhestershire, condensed beef consomme, horseradish, chilli powder, oregano, ground thyme, freshly ground black peppercorns, chopped onions and crushed garlic.  I whisked that all together, poured it over the beef and then popped it into a preheated 325 F oven.

After an hour I took it out, turned the beef over and added chopped celery and carrots.  I figure I’ll let it cook another hour, check on it, turn it again and then keep checking every 20 minutes after that.

Oh, and the simple inspiration part?  That’s the colour of the pot…I’ve found the basis for the new colour scheme I want to redo the kitchen in.

To the hardware store for paint and the fabric store for material for new curtains!

§ 9 Responses to Simple Inspiration

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Simple Inspiration at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

