It’s Christmas Time!!

November 29, 2010 § 4 Comments

For reasons unknown to me, I’m more excited about Christmas this year than I remember being since I was a kid.

Normally about this time I start getting antsy about what’s not done, getting bogged down emotionally about the amount of work ahead and just plain anxious about the whole thing.

However, this year all that uncomfortableness has so far escaped me and I’ve been happily welcoming the coming of the season.  I’ve been humming Christmas tunes while cleaning and putting away the Hallowe’en decor and my birthday stuff.  I’ve been excitedly making list after list while staring out the front window at the falling snow.  I’ve even made myself hungry just thinking about cookies, pies and Christmas dinner.

Though we have yet to bring up the old (and I mean old as in nearly my age – seriously, it’s near antique status) fake evergreen, yesterday I placed the Nativity in its place of honour atop the piano.


Unfortunately, the Angel that usually hangs above baby Jesus’ head fell off while I was taking it out of the box.  For now I’ve leaned her up against a post next to the Shepherd until I get out my glue gun and set her back in her rightful place.

And today it was all about boxes, bows, labels, cards and wrapping paper…

Wait…where’s the wrapping paper?  For the first time ever in the over 20 years I’ve had my own household, I am utterly deplete of Christmas wrap.  Wow, weird.  I’m definitely going to have to stock up this year.  😀

How are your holiday preparations going?

 

§ 4 Responses to It’s Christmas Time!!

  • Shady Lady says:

    I have a Jewish friend who went into a store to buy a nativity for a gift for a friend. Being raised Jewish and the daughter of a Rabbi, she didn’t know much about it…or even what it was called. She walked into the store and asked where she can find “a Jesus and friends”. The store clerk had no idea what she was talking about. That story always cracks me up…

  • Sheri says:

    That’s hilarious! I’m going to remember that, “Jesus and friends” hehehe.

  • Cate says:

    Haha – love it Shady.

    I’m feeling more organised this year than any other year too – and am enjoying it (thus far!)

  • Sheri says:

    Cate – I think that’s it, I’m much more organized this year and not leaving everything to the last minute.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading It’s Christmas Time!! at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

