Chocolate Chip Christmas Cookies

December 11, 2010 § 6 Comments


Here’s an easy, but nonetheless yummy, cookie recipe for the holidays.


You’ll need 1 cup of butter (room temperature), 1 cup of brown sugar, 2 eggs (beaten), 1 tsp of vanilla, 1 tsp of salt, 1 tsp of baking powder, 2 cups of flour, chocolate chips and holiday MnMs.


Because it’s bloody cold around these parts lately I had to soften my butter in the microwave on warm for 30 seconds to get it to room temperature.


Using a spatula I creamed the butter until it was soft and pliable.  (Note: I still mix by hand but if you have one of those fancy mixer dealies feel free – just don’t tell me about it because I’ll be jealous.  😀  )


Next I added the brown sugar and mixed well.  This takes awhile (especially by hand) but it’s important to make sure that the butter and sugar are mixed thoroughly.


Next I added the beaten eggs and swapped out my spatula for a whisk.  You want to whisk this together until it resembles farina.  (Farina is like oatmeal only finer and smoother.)


See, that’s what farina looks like – a lot like hummus.  😀  Add your vanilla and mix well.


Add your salt and baking powder and keep mixing.  You know what? I think I’ll be asking for a stand mixer for Christmas…I’m getting to old in the joints for all this by hand crap.

Add your flour, 1/2 cup at a time until it is thoroughly incorporated.  For soft chewy cookies omit about 1/4 cup of the flour – for crisp crunchy cookies add an extra 1/4 cup.  This recipe actually gives a nice texture that falls in between.


Add your chocolate chips. How much you add is entirely a personal preference.  I added about a cup – maybe a bit more…it’s the holidays afterall.  Now is a good time to preheat your oven to 350 F.


Drop a tablespoon full sized amount of dough onto a buttered cookie tray spacing them out about an inch and a half.


Next I added my MnMs by hand – three to a cookie.  Now there’s absolutely no reason you can’t just add a cup or so of the sweet, sweet candy to your dough if you prefer to.  I’ve just found that it’s easier to do it this way – and you don’t end up with melted candy shell stuck to your pan.

Bake in your preheated oven for about 8 to 12 minutes.  Again, the cooking time also effects how chewy or crispy your cookies come out so the low end for chewy, a little longer for crispy.


Let the cookies cool on a rack before serving or packaging.  Okay, you can have one right away – quick hurry though before the kids see.  These cookies are for giving though so I let them cool completely before packaging them.

 


Mmmmmm….


Along with this tin of cookies, the receiver is also getting a Cookies for Santa plate to go with them.  I know, aren’t I a clever monkey?  At first I was discouraged to find that I have absolutely no Christmas ribbon, but I do have plenty of red and white yarn and so I improvised.

Now, suppose you didn’t feel like standing in front of an oven all day to bake up that whole batch of dough?  I’ve thought of that too…

Slap a wad of dough onto a piece of wax paper and sprinkle lightly with flour.


Mold it into a log (or your best representation thereof) and sprinkle with more flour.  Roll the dough up in the wax paper and then cover with plastic wrap.


Like this, the dough will last in the fridge for about 2 weeks or in the freezer up to 2 months.  Just make sure you let it come to room temperature before using.  Bake as you would normally.

Enjoy!

§ 6 Responses to Chocolate Chip Christmas Cookies

  • MrCrow says:

    I’m racing back home for cookies!

  • Cate says:

    Ah – you clever cookie…..

    geddit? geddit?

    I crack myself up….

  • Shady Lady says:

    My grandmother used to bake chocolate chip cookies. She always altered recipes to make them less sweet…she always thought everything was too sweet. We grew up with them and really loved them. She died when I was in my mid-twenties and nobody has the recipe. I’ve tried to replicate it…maybe one day. *sigh* Yours look yummy!!!

  • Shady Lady says:

    Hmmm…I just realized that with our gluten issue we will likely never be able to replicate them. *big sigh*

  • Sheri says:

    MrCrow – Oh no you don’t. These cookies are for giving. 😀

    Cate – Yes, I gedit…hehehe funny lady.

    Shady – Actually I adapted this recipe from one that called for a mixture of white and brown sugar that added up to more. I’m like your Grandma that way, I tend to use less sugar than traditional recipes call for. I’ll even substitute with honey if I can. I don’t take sugar in my coffee or tea either. Huh, I never realized my subtle aversion to sugar before…neat.

    And actually, I was thinking about you and your gluten-free ways when I posted this and wondered about substitutions.

    What do you use in place of say all purpose flour?

  • Shady Lady says:

    Well, seeing as I don’t bake… ;p The Lizard King is working on perfecting gluten free baking. We are rather new to it. He has been using an “all purpose” GF flour that we buy online. At the moment he is taking his second stab at making pizza crust. I can’t wait for dinner!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Chocolate Chip Christmas Cookies at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

