My Best Friend’s Dog

December 18, 2010 § 4 Comments


That’s me and Guinness (her ex named him), my best friend’s dog.  We’re actually cat people and only owned a dog briefly as a family before realizing it was not going to work out.

However, we’ve done plenty of dog sitting over the years and it seems to give us the best of both worlds.  Of course the cats hate it but they get over their indignation pretty quickly.

Anyway, as you can see by the grey around his muzzle, Guinny is no spring chicken and will be turning 11 on his next birthday – not that I know when that is exactly.  😀  It’s such a joy to have him around because unlike the cats who only have a casual interest in us, Guinness barely leaves anybody’s side when he’s here.

He’s always interested in whatever it is we’re doing and is as playful and full of life as any puppy. On his walk this morning he actually laid down in the snow when he saw another dog coming.  His cropped tail wagged furiously and he started whining, it was so cute.

For the next two weeks and two days he’s our guest and we were sure to let him know that we’ve notified Santa so that he’s not forgotten on Christmas morning.  Yes, my kids are 15 and 22 and I still write FROM SANTA on most of their presents.

Anyway, it’s going to be a raucous Christmas this year with a full house. Grampa is coming to spend the night on Christmas Eve, and Hubby’s family is joining us Christmas day for our holiday feast.  It’ll be a wonderful time with family, great food and a boat load of gift giving.

Still, I’m also looking very forward to the quiet of the aftermath.  Son is moving into his new place on the first or second, Guinness is going home on the 4th and I get a little bit of serenity back.  2011 is going to be a great year!

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to one and all.

§ 4 Responses to My Best Friend’s Dog

  • Shady Lady says:

    Awwwww! What a sweet puppy!! Good thing you’ve visited Princess’ blog so that you know how to take care of dogs. 😉 I’m sure Guinness is relieved to know that Santa knows where he is.

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – Thanks…he is a very sweet old guy. Yes, I’m very glad for Princess’ advice, no doubt it’ll come in handy. 😉

    And yes, I’m sure he’s very relieved. 😀

  • Cate says:

    So nice to see a pic of you!

    Good on you re the dog-minding. The poop disposal thing gets me with dogs…

  • Sheri says:

    Cate – Thanks! Yeah, I’m usually the one taking the pictures so there aren’t a whole lot of me.

    I really don’t mind dog sitting, especially such a great dog as Guinness is, but yeah, having to scoop (which is the law here with hefty fines) is my LEAST favourite part.

    Oh well, I figure if I can change diapers I can do this, plus it’s only for two weeks. ;D

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Best Friend’s Dog at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

