Totally Random Stuff

December 19, 2010 § 4 Comments

Son just confirmed that he’s moving out in 12 days.  Even though he’s moved out before this time it’s very different and in many ways feels like the first time. Well, actually it feels nothing like the first time.  Obviously something I still have to sort out emotionally.

I’ve made over 6 dozen cookies in the last two weeks and I’ve given every last one away.  Minus the few the kids and Hubby grabbed before I got them all packaged.  This week I’m baking cookies just for us…meaning me.

So far I love being 39.  40 is a big one and I’m looking forward to it.  No really, I am.  A long time ago I set the idea in my mind that 40 was going to be when my life would really start to kick off.  (Not that it hasn’t been really interesting so far.) And lately I feel like I’ve got a bonus 11 months to get ready for it.

I never did get around to putting the angel back up on the nativity…I should do that soon.

Son is moving out in 12 days.  This time, he’s 22 and not 17…like he was the first time.  This time, he’s got a place to go and is looking forward to it and not storming out cursing under his breath with no idea where he was going.  This time, he’s a grown man with a full time position and not a teenager about to drop out of high school.  This time, he’s college certified in his line of work and not just getting by with a part-time job.

This time, he’s my son whom I’m proud of and not my baby that I’m worried about.

Gotta go walk a dog.

§ 4 Responses to Totally Random Stuff

  • Shady Lady says:

    This post just made me smile. 🙂 I can feel the peaceful feeling behind it.

    I have totally been craving cookies and asked the Lizard King to please bake me some. I think I may get my wish on Friday. He’s got the day off and we’ve got no plans. I think he and Princess will have a busy day.

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – Yes, I am feeling a bit peaceful…it’s a new feeling for me so that’s why I didn’t recognize it. 😛

    I LOVE cookies…give me a few cookies and a glass of milk and it’s like I’m five years old again.

  • MrCrow says:

    Mmmm….cookies!

    I think I’ve had two. Between kids, friends and relatives its a wonder I’m not starving 😀

  • Sheri says:

    MrCrow – Oh please, starving indeed, Mr. 6 meals a day. 😀

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Totally Random Stuff at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

