Like There Wasn’t Enough To Do

December 23, 2010 § 7 Comments

I have until around 2:00 tomorrow afternoon when Grampa arrives to finish all my last minutes Christmas preparations.  As is the case every year, I found myself really low on the stocking stuffers and made a mad dash to the drug store this afternoon to get some more.

I returned home and started sorting them when it very gradually dawned on me, that in my haste to be a wonderful Daughter and gracious host I completely forgot that my father was stockingless.  Aaaaaaaaahhhhhh!  I don’t have time to muck about with such things.

So the great debate…do I spend 20 minutes in the car, 15 minutes wandering through an over crowded store and another 15 debating whether I want to pay $15 for a plush sock that gets used once or

do I just make him a darn stocking and be done with it?   Guess what I did?


I cut two pieces of that lovely winter plaid I bought in November and a piece of blue ribbon.  I hemmed the two top edges toward the inside, then with right sides together and ribbon pinned near the top back on the inside, I stitched all the way around with a very generous seam allowance.


I then carefully cut off the excess seam allowance and ribbon that stuck out and turned the stocking outside right.


Voila!  In less time than it would have taken me to just drive to the store I handmade a Christmas stocking for my Dad for free.  Sometimes my cleverness even impresses me.  😀

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to everyone.

§ 7 Responses to Like There Wasn’t Enough To Do

  • Shady Lady says:

    You never cease to amaze me, Sheri!!!
    I’m getting closer to sewing!! Really I am!

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – Thanks! Good, I can’t wait until you get started…you’ll quickly see how much fun and rewarding a hobby it is. 😀

  • Shady Lady says:

    I can’t wait! Princess wants to learn, too…since she plans to be a fashion designer. I have a Singer 4538 C. It’s been sitting for YEARS! Like maybe 8 years. What should I do to get it ready? I called on a price to have it serviced and they want $85. That is not in the budget. LK said he will take it apart and do what needs to be done. I just ordered the manual because I can’t find mine. Of course, it will turn up now that I’ve paid for one. 😉 Anyway, any advice or tips are very welcome!!

  • MrCrow says:

    Merry Christmas!!

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – I’ll send you some tips – or if I’m up for it, do a whole post. 😀

    MrCrow – Merry Christmas!

  • Cate says:

    Ah you smarty – pants.

    I would have gone and got one of son’s huge soccer socks and said “make do with that!”

  • Sheri says:

    Cate – I had already done searching for a make-do substitute, this was my last recourse…besides going back out again. 😀

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Like There Wasn’t Enough To Do at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

