All Quiet on the Homefront

January 7, 2011 § 6 Comments

Very quiet day here today.  So far about 5 cms of snow has fallen and it’s still coming.  It’s supposed to end sometime overnight.  It’s very pretty and rather lovely to just sit and watch the puffy white flakes float to the ground, mesmerizing really.

Unfortunately though, it does wreak havoc on the roads and makes Hubby’s commute home twice as long.  Though with his Jeep, which is built for weather like this, he no doubt is in his glory.  He’s been waiting weeks for a snowfall like this.

As for me, I spent all day waiting for a delivery that just came…it’s 4:00 pm.  “Please be available between 8:00 am and 6:00 pm.”  Really, ten bleedin’ hours?  I should consider myself lucky I only had to wait 8?  *sigh*

Daughter was in her glory bouncin’ between her computer, new iPod and her chores.  Yes, she actually HAPPILY put her laundry away today WITHOUT PROMPTING.  Not that she normally makes too big a fuss but the norm is me “reminding” her, her grumbling about doing it later and then a minute after that getting up in a huff and “announcing” that she might as well get it over with.  Hmmmm, I wonder where she gets that from?  (MrCrow – if you know what’s good for you, you won’t answer that.   😉   )

Oh, I’ve updated my blogroll and added Colleen’s new blog Simple Frugal Fun.  I also put Freckles @ SuchLovelyFreckles back up there and am so happy to know she’s back to blogging.  Apparently she’s been back at it for a bit but I lost track.

As Hubby likes to say, “Happy Friday!”

I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend!

 

§ 6 Responses to All Quiet on the Homefront

  • Shady Lady says:

    I cannot believe I’m saying these words, but I want snow! It’s likely because I have a 7 year old who wants snow, but please, if you wouldn’t mind…could you send some down here? Happy Friday!!

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – You know, if I could I so would. For me it loses its appeal as soon as it hits the ground. But when the kids were little yeah, it was a lot of fun. Snowball fights, sledding, skating etc…lots of great memories of hanging out with the kids in the snow. We even went up to the cottage one year in January…it was awesome. 😀

  • Cate says:

    Sigh……..

    snow-envy

    Again……

  • Colleen says:

    Thanks for posting the link to my new blog! It sounds kind of nice to be home all day when it’s cold and snowy outside. But I guess knowing you have to be there puts a damper on it–better for it to be your own choice, I suppose. Kind of like school! 😉

  • Sheri says:

    Cate – *sigh* It goes well with my summer envy. 😀

    Colleen – No problemo, I am happy to do it. Oh I really didn’t mind staying indoors at all, it was the waiting to get on with my day – taking a shower mostly. 😉

  • MrCrow says:

    (staying silent cuz I’m smrt :D)

    We need more snow. My jeep is bored.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading All Quiet on the Homefront at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

