How To Keep Warm

January 10, 2011 § 4 Comments

Well, winter finally blew in and has put last week’s balmy 9 C to rest.  It’s been -20s with the wind for the last few days with consistent snow.  Honestly, it just feels like an average winter and it’s really nice.

But I get cold pretty easily and I have to keep a steady regimen to avoid catching a chill.  Though our gas heating is one of the least expensive options (you wouldn’t believe what we were paying a few years ago for oil), this is still an old house and the many of the vents need resealing.  So though a few of the rooms maintain a comfortable temp, some of the others are just downright cold.  And you all know about the plastic on the windows, right?

Anyway, here’s some tips on how to keep warm in winter in Eastern Canada in January…

1) Dress in THIN layers.  You can’t just put on a sweater and call it done.  If you only expect to be cold for an hour or so, fine.  However, if outside your window it’s snowing and winds are blowing -20 C degree cold air all around for three days, I’m sorry but a sweater ain’t gonna cut it.  Two thin layers will keep you warmer than a thick one.

2) Drink warm drinks, NOT hot ones.  Though it might seem logical that a hot drink or soup would warm you up quickly, for some reason a liquid that’s only slightly warmer than room temperature works better.

3) Avoid sweating. As tempting as it is to try to warm up with extra layers and rigorous movement, sweating when you’re cold will actually make you colder.

4) Cover your head and feet!  We lose the most heat from our extremities; our feet, heads and hands.  So while it’s not really practical to wear mitts in the house, Daughter and I both wear head scarves and slippers when it’s consistently cold.

5) Snuggle under a blanket. My absolute favourite way to beat the cold is to get under a blanket with my family and either read a book together or watch a movie…of course, with warm popcorn.  It’s been a long time since we did the former but on occasion we still do the latter.

Now I don’t really understand the science of all this, it just comes from a lifetime of experience living in this climate.  And the truth is, I’m grateful for this experience and knowledge.  I like that I know what it is to be cold and that I know how to deal with it.

Hmmmm, thinking of you Freckles and that whole, “Am I finally growing up” thing.  😉

§ 4 Responses to How To Keep Warm

  • Shady Lady says:

    Well I learned a few things today! I didn’t know about thin layers or warm drinks rather than hot ones. It isn’t as cold here, but I always wear slippers. I finally broke down and bought a really good pair. I’m knitting a blanket and during colder days is my favorite time to work on it. The Lizard King can’t wait for it to be done! 😉

  • MrCrow says:

    Okay okay okay – vents are all fixed and sealed now. I wonder how much heating costs we’ve tossed out the window the past 7-10 years.

    Oh, and yer car works again. McGuyver would be proud 😀

  • Cate says:

    What a handy man you have there 🙂

    Does the weather cause the economy to grind to a halt there or do you all persevere with schools / shops / business etc throughout it?

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – I have to agree about your observation that knitting seems easier to get done when it’s cold. Maybe it’s the wool? 😀

    MrCrow – You rock my world! (Okay, any further comments are not safe for a family blog. 😉 )

    Cate – I wouldn’t say the economy grinds to a halt during bad weather, families and businesses alike compensate for extreme weather at this time of year.

    What we’re experiencing right now is not extreme though, by any means…at least not for us. 😉

    This would be considered a moderate winter where we pretty much happily go about our business. When the windchill drops to -25 though, school children are kept indoors during recess.

    It was only a few years ago that we reached over 400 cm of snow and broke records, still the plows came through and life went on as normal…mind you at a much slower pace.

    So I guess, my answer is yes…we persevere. 😀

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading How To Keep Warm at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

