Project 2011 – Week Two

January 13, 2011 § 10 Comments


It’s week two of Project 2011 hosted by the lovely Cate @ Moments of Whimsy.  Go on over and check out her update to see how she and the other participants are doing.  If you’re not already on board, we encourage you join in at any time.

Onto my week…

1) Well, truthfully we gave up the evening walks as soon as the weather started getting cold. I don’t know about you but a 30 minute jaunt in -20 C windchill is not my idea of a relaxing time.  Instead we’ve opted to start pedaling on the new exercise machine we just inherited from Hubby’s parents.  Unfortunately, it’s called an exercise machine and there’s no getting around fooling my body that I’m doing something else.  I HATE it.  Our first round, Hubby burned 181 calories, Daughter burned 74 and I burned 12.  How embarrassing.  On an up note though, Hubby and I had an amazing romp last night that must have burned at least 300.  😉  (Oh sorry, was that TMI? Hehehe.)

2) 
Tada! I actually started working on my novel.  It took me almost 20 minutes just to find my files – yes, it had been that long since I even opened my laptop.  Anyway, I found them and to my surprise and utter joy, I found a chapter that I had totally forgotten that I started…a good five or so pages. Happy day.

3) So far still no pampering but I have two weeks left in the month and I’ve promised myself a nice hair cut.  I’m looking forward to that.

4) I still haven’t written any poetry. And I’m beginning to think I was bang on when I thought that perhaps the poems were hindering more than helping right now.  I do feel much lighter emotionally and I find that I’m not dwelling at all.

5) Ah, kinder to myself.  This one is so tricky but I did manage to do something this week that I normally do not. See, the thing is I promised myself that today I would work on my novel – tomorrow the kids and I are going to be out all day running around and then it’s the weekend and Hubby is home and it’s a little harder to fit it in.  Well, yesterday I got a spontaneous invite to hang out with a dear friend today and before even thinking about it, I said yes.

Well, wouldn’t you know it, it wasn’t long before I realized that I had just broken a promise to myself.  Not very kind of me at all.  But I already told my friend I would go.  Aha, but I had previously told myself that I would write.  It was indeed a struggle because I hate letting other people down or otherwise disappointing them.  But I’m also getting fed up with doing it to myself too.  Anyway, in the end I swallowed my pride and admitted to my friend that I should not have accepted the invitation as I had made a previous commitment to myself and apologized.  It was hard but it felt good and I’m very proud of myself.

Go me!  😀

§ 10 Responses to Project 2011 – Week Two

  • MrCrow says:

    Go you indeed!

    (nudge, nudge, wink, wink)

  • Sheri says:

    MrCrow – *grin* Love you! (say no more, say no more eh)

  • Cate says:

    Oh my – blushing here.

    Go you digging out the novel – I’m yet to do the same but then I’ve been slightly distracted with other things. And I can only cope with any exercise machine if there is a DVD playing and a book to read at the same time 🙂

  • Bernie says:

    You go girl! Sounds like it was a good week for the most part. Glad that romp helped burn some calories for you. 🙂

  • Sheri says:

    Cate – Thanks…maybe next week I’ll actually have written something. 😉

    Bernie – Thank you. Yep, me too. The calorie burning is just extra incentive and Hubby’s not complaining. 😉

  • Hahaha – the romp bit had me laughing, thanks for that! 🙂
    I think all of your goals sound wonderful! 🙂

    It’s funny how the same thing means different things to different people. For me, saying yes to some time away with a friend would have been doing the best thing for me, because I am a home body and often don’t give myself permission to go out and have fun and relax. Glad you are doing right by you, though.

    Also, as far as poetry goes… I recommended this elsewhere as well, and am starting this myself later this month, I found this post extremely inspiring:

    http://www.chookooloonks.com/the-beauty-of-different/2010/12/29/journaling-101-a-primer-for-those-whod-like-to-start-a-pract.html

    Perhaps something like this, with a little more wiggle room, might give you what you were hoping to find with the poetry. 🙂

  • Sheri says:

    Kellee – Thanks for your comment and the link.

    Usually an outing to hang out with a friend would be a good thing, unfortunately too often I agree to such things while completely disregarding my need for some personal time to work on my own projects. I really need to work on finding a balance in that regard.

    As for the poetry, I’m actually quite prolific and have accumulated a large collection of my prose. The problem for me is that many of them repeat the same emotional turmoil that I’ve been expressing for years. I’ve opted to try and curb this to see if I can’t get away from writing about the bad stuff and gain a new perspective so I can start writing more uplifting and hopeful stuff.

    Does that make sense?

  • Colleen says:

    Good for you, Sheri! I think you did the right thing to keep your previous commitment to yourself. Bravo!!

  • Shady Lady says:

    Absolutely go you!!! Way to take care of yourself! You rock!!! And yay on all the other stuff, too!!! xoxo

  • Sheri says:

    Colleen – Thanks. I thought so too but I still felt bad about it. I’ll get the hang of it I’m sure. 😀

    Shady – Thanks so much. You rock too! 😀

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Project 2011 – Week Two at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

