As Quiet as it is Cold

January 16, 2011 § 4 Comments

It’s very quiet here today and with a windchill of -25 C, it’s bloody cold too.

Yesterday Daughter had a movie party and a couple of her friends came by to take over my living room for the afternoon.  After doing the requisite cleaning of house and helping with food prep I took off and spent the afternoon with a friend.

At an average age of 14 1/2, the girls certainly didn’t need (and dare I say even want) me hovering about.  It was a nice break and I thoroughly enjoyed the time out of the house.

And because we cleaned the house yesterday, there’s very little pressing to get done around here. So this morning I puttered and tidied and baked some oatmeal chocolate chip muffins…yummm.  (same as the blueberry from last week just add about 1/2 cup of chocolate chips directly to the mix instead of the blueberries)

Now I’m just staring at this screen debating on my next move…once I finish this post of course.  😉

Oh, Hubby is over at a buddy’s watching the football game and Daughter is flaked out in front of the t.v. Yes, it’s the high life here in mid-winter Canada.  😀

So, anyway, I could pretty much do whatever I like.  It still bothers me how unsettling this feeling is.  Having spent the majority of my life living from one have-to to the next, this is a little weird.  I suppose I better get used to it…or have another baby…bahahahahahahahahaha!  (I’m funny eh dear?)

I could work on Daughter’s Tom Baker scarf…yes, I’m still truckin’ along with that.  I could sew some placements for my kitchen redo, I could sort through some more family photos, I could finally bring the Christmas decorations back downstairs.

I COULD do all those things but I’m pretty sure I won’t.

Maybe I’ll just crawl under the duvet, pop in a Johnny (Jonathan Rhys Meyers) movie or the Tudors and call it a well spent afternoon of nothingness.  Sounds good, no?

Hope everyone had a great weekend.

Later.

§ 4 Responses to As Quiet as it is Cold

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading As Quiet as it is Cold at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

