It’s Still Cold

January 19, 2011 § 4 Comments

*sigh*

“WHY do I live here,  why DO I live here, why do I live HERE?”

I hate the cold.  I love that it gives me an excuse to stay indoors, in fuzzy socks and robe, watching movies and cooking.  But I do occasionally still have to go out in it and that’s when I find myself asking the above question.

I was nearly frozen by the time I got all the snow and ice off the car…halfway through I almost gave up and came back inside.  But Son is coming by for dinner tonight and I wanted to make his favourite dessert, ingredients to which I did not have on hand.

I hope he appreciates it.  😀  Actually, I know he does and that made it easier to brave the cold and make my way to the grocery store.

Speaking of Son (like how I segued right into that), the old adage that no news is good news applies.  He seems to be doing fine because I haven’t heard otherwise…and believe me, I ALWAYS hear otherwise.  😀

It’s an interesting feeling this, having a child out in the world on their own.  And it’s a much better feeling than it was the first time he left home at 17.  This time, at 22, there was none of the disappointment, frustration and worry that marred the previous experience.

This time he’s employed full time at a job he likes, he certified to start working in a better job when he’s ready and instead of moving into my sister’s basement, he’s living with roommates his own age and who have similar interests.

I’m very proud of Son for how he turned things around for himself and has overcome many of the obstacles he faced getting to where he is now.

I still miss him though and I suppose that’s something that won’t ever change.  The older he gets the farther away from being my baby, my little guy, my “Monkey Jones” he gets too.

I guess I’ll end this post with how I started it.

*sigh*

§ 4 Responses to It’s Still Cold

  • Shady Lady says:

    Sending you warm thoughts, Sheri. It’s much warmer here, although I wouldn’t call it warm. Princess assures me that she will live with me forever. Right now I’m holding on to that. 🙂

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – Thanks for the warm thoughts…I’ll keep them close. Yes, hold on tight to that. 😀

  • Cate says:

    I simply cannot imagine living in that climate!

    Am hoping that things go so well for when mine finally venture from the nest (will be a while though….*sigh*)

  • Sheri says:

    Cate – It’s actually not too bad 3/4 of the year…it’s just the winters that are rough.

    Well, as you know it wasn’t really an easy road but now that we’re here, the situation is much better.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading It’s Still Cold at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

