Project 2011 – Week Three

January 20, 2011 § 5 Comments

It is really week three already?  I hope this isn’t an indication of how quickly this year is going to go by.  😀


Project 2011 is being hosted by Cate @ Moments of Whimsy in an effort to round up bloggers willing to support and encourage each other with our goals/resolutions for 2011.  Go on over and check out her update to see how she and the other participants are doing.  As always, you are welcome to join in anytime.  😀

My Week Three…

1) So far my body hasn’t shown any signs that it’s at all grateful for the efforts I’ve been making.  My weight is the same, my energy levels haven’t increased much at all and my legs are sore and tired from the half assed efforts I’ve made on the exercise machine.  However, on the bright side, I did manage to walk away from the potato chip aisle (and in doing so realized that there are entire sections of the grocery store designed to sabotage a person’s attempt at healthy eating) WITHOUT buying any.

2) I wrote, I wrote, I wrote.  I’m pretty excited to share that I did get some actually novel writing done.  The treasure chapter I found last week inspired me to just keep going where I left off and I added another three pages. I also gained a clearer vision of where I see this chapter going and its overall relevance to the story.

3) Alas, still no pampering but I’ve decided where I’m going to get my hair cut and now I just have to wait until payday and make an appointment.  I want to point out that if a haircut doesn’t seem like pampering, keep in mind that I get my haircut, by a professional, about once every two years.  For me, it’s definitely something I view as a luxury and I’m pretty excited.

4) Okay, I broke down and wrote and published a poem. I just want to add this caveat, this poem was an expression of gratitude which is a big switch from my usual expressions of regret, remorse and disappointment.  A step in a more positive direction can’t be called a failure.  😀

5) This week, my kinder to myself goal resulted in my refusing to allow myself to feel guilty for indulging in 8  hours (over two days) of watching a DVD miniseries based on my favourite book.  I still managed to attend to dinner, my have-to chores and quality time with Daughter.  So even though I did little else those two days, I was very happy getting lost in 12th century England and I didn’t make myself feel bad about it.

That’s it for me, I’m looking forward to checking out how you all are doing.

§ 5 Responses to Project 2011 – Week Three

  • Cate says:

    You have had a wonderful week -am so thrilled that you’ve gotten back into the writing! And we should remember that your DVD marathon was also conducted during bitterly cold weather – what else would you want be doing?

    Keep it up girl, you are doing amazingly! x

  • Shady Lady says:

    What a great week!! I totally count getting your hair done as pampering. I do get mine done more often than you and I still consider it pampering. I would love a DVD marathon! Right now I’d settle for a day at home. After all, we are homeschoolers…right? ;P

    I have to say I am most thrilled about the writing. You go girl!! Can’t wait to read your published book. 🙂 Hey…a girl can hope…

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – Thanks and good to know I’m not alone in the haircut = pampering. I go so rarely because I do like my hair longer rather than shorter but every now and again it feels good to a bunch of it chopped.

    If it gets published at all, I’ll likely self-publish a dozen or so copies. In which case, you my friend will get an autographed, first edition copy. 😉

  • Bernie says:

    Sounds like a good week. I think that getting your hair cut by a professional is always pampering. Be it every month or every 2 years. It just puts a spring in your stop.

    Good for you with the writing. I bet that must make you feel quite accomplished. I know it would me. Keep going!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Project 2011 – Week Three at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

