The Evolution of a Partly Written Novel

January 22, 2011 § 3 Comments

My experience is that a person embarks on writing a novel because they get an idea in their heads that won’t leave, fade away or otherwise leave them the heck alone.

“A bee in their bonnet” is one good expression that describes the feeling.

Ten years ago I got this neat idea about a story that I thought would be…well, neat.  Without much effort, I managed to take some notes here and there, write out a few vague plot ideas and catalog a couple of interesting characters.


I ended up with all that.  Those are just parts of history, plot outlines and character descriptions.  There’s not much there that will end up in the actual book, all THAT writing is just being used as a guide.


Then there are the drawings.  The rough sketches and final drafts.  Coloured maps and miscellaneous scenes.  Made over years of stealing moments and pencil crayons from my kids.  They are an invaluable part of my writing process and I refer to them often for both inspiration and consistency.


And there we have the actual work in progress.  The first ten chapters printed, labeled and filed sort of neatly into a folder.  Don’t get too excited though, according to my last updated time line, it seems I got the bright idea to intersperse a subplot in between them.

The chapter I’ve been working on is the anchor.  It creates a bit of chaos in that I’m no longer sure what this means for my existing ideas and for my characters.

I’m so excited!   😀

(And of course, that’s really why we do it.)

§ 3 Responses to The Evolution of a Partly Written Novel

  • Shady Lady says:

    I’m excited, too! And curious. And a little more excited. Between you and Freckles, I’ve got to practice a lot of patience. I wonder who will publish first… 😉

  • Cate says:

    Ditto to what Shady said….I’m excited for you (and a tad jealous as I haven’t been able to think about the writing yet)…

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – I would think that Freckles will publish before I do because as I understand it, she’s actually finished her book. 😀

    Cate – Thanks Cate…I’m excited too. I hope you get the chance to get back at yours soon. 😀

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Evolution of a Partly Written Novel at What's On The Menu Today....

meta