Solace In My Stove

January 24, 2011 § 5 Comments

Lordy bee, it’s cold.  It’s too cold to even swear about how cold it is.

Still, I did my exercises figuring at least it’ll warm me up some.  It did but now I’m stiff and being stiff in the cold just makes you feel colder.  Okay…I’m done whinging now.

The rest of my day has been spent in the kitchen next to the stove and warm oven.

On the menu today is…


Our favourite version of gluten-free pasta.  I know, it’s not pasta at all…it’s a Spaghetti Squash and we fell in love with them about 7 years ago when I first heard of them.  I would have taken a picture of it cut and cleaned but I have to wait for Hubby to come home.  Yes, I’m that much of a weakling that I can’t halve a squash…there I said it.


And here’s the Paleo friendly meat sauce that’s going to go on top of the tender strings of squash.  For the first time ever I added a bit of cream to it after reading that it reduces the acidity.  Bonus for us heartburn sufferers.


Okay, okay…this lemon cake is neither gluten-free or Paleo friendly.  It’s an old-fashioned too much butter, refined sugar and bleached flour slab of  artery hardening goodness.


Oh, and here’s the lemon glaze that’s going to go on top of it.  Lemon juice and more refined sugar.

Baby steps.

§ 5 Responses to Solace In My Stove

  • Shady Lady says:

    Spaghetti squash!! I have two of them sitting in my pantry because I’m too afraid to make them. What do they taste like? Is it really good to top the strands with a red sauce? I am so hesitant. Help me, Sheri!!!

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – Spaghetti squash has a very mild taste so it takes on the flavours of the sauce very nicely. And yes, it’s awesome to top the strands with a red sauce. Don’t be hesitant…just dive in there. Cut the squash in half lengthwise, scoop out the seeds and then bake for about 30 minutes or until strands loosen easily with a fork. Serve as you would spaghetti. 😀

  • Shady Lady says:

    Thanks Sheri. Maybe I’ll be brave enough this weekend to try it. 😉

  • Cate says:

    i don’t know if they have this vege downunder. You are making me hungry though – I’m soooo over this bland diet that I am on…

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – No problem. Believe me, once you’ve tried it you’ll wonder what you were so worried about. 😉

    Cate – Here, they are actually labeled Spaghetti Squash and they’re in the grocery store with the other squashes and root vegetables. My sympathies for your bland diet.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Solace In My Stove at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

