Facing My Fear of Fish

January 27, 2011 § 2 Comments

I’m not a big consumer of aquatic life.  I just never developed a taste for it and the few times I have tried shrimp or a piece of rainbow trout, it was usually after much cajoling and that’s not a good way to try new foods.

I know that fish is an excellent source of protein with all kind of benefits when a regular part of a healthy diet.  I really should be making an effort to incorporate it into mine.  I figure the best way to do that is to make some for myself – oh and Hubby and Daughter can have some too.

The thing is, I have absolutely no clue about how to cook fish.  Today I’m going to change that.  I’m starting simple though so don’t expect anything fancy, I’m just hoping for edible at this point.

We’re starting off with frozen (thawed in the fridge overnight) cod fillets.  It seems like the least threatening fish to start with.  Hubby bought a salmon steak as well but I’m not ready for that.

After rinsing and laying the fillets in a deep cookie sheet lined with tin foil, I added salt and pepper, pats of butter (2 per fillet),a squeeze of lemon, sweet red onion and some fresh dill sprigs.  I then covered the fish with another sheet of tin foil and sealed the edges.

I baked them at 300 F for about 20 minutes, removed them from the oven and let rest for another 5 minutes.

I also made my first ever bacon mushroom cream sauce…

I used 1 cup of sliced button mushrooms, 5 slices of bacon cut into 1″ pieces, 2 tblsp of butter, 2 tblsp of flour, 1/2 cup of cream, 1/4 cup of white wine, 1/2 tsp of celery salt, 1/4 tsp of ground thyme and 1/4 tsp of ground cumin and some crushed black pepper

Cook the bacon on medium in a pot until it’s mostly cooked, add the mushrooms, spices and wine and cook until bacon is crisp but not burnt.  Remove bacon and mushrooms, draining the fat. (You can save it or toss it, it’s up to you.  I like to save mine for making eggs…mmmm.)

Using the same pot, add butter and stir over medium heat until melted, add flour and stir until mixture thickens, add cream and the bacon mushroom mix, remove from heat.

And voila!


The sauce ended up being to thick for my taste and I found it overpowered the flavours of the fish.  Next time, I won’t make the rue and I’ll just sprinkle the cooked bacon and mushrooms on top.  Still, for my first ever fish dish, it turned out pretty good…I mean the true test was that I actually ate it.

 

§ 2 Responses to Facing My Fear of Fish

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Facing My Fear of Fish at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

