Project 2011 – Week Four

January 27, 2011 § 10 Comments


It’s Week Four of Project 2011 hosted by my good friend Cate @ MomentsofWhimsy.  Click on the above pic to link to her entry and of all the other participants.  Please feel free to join us as we make new friends and encourage each other in working towards our goals/resolutions for 2011.

I have to admit that I’m really thriving on the support I’m getting and I can’t thank you all enough for stopping by and lending your “Way to Go”s…it really means a lot.

Okay, onto my Week Four.

1)  Taking better care of my body.  This is going surprisingly well for me.  As a side effect of all my research on gluten-free baking and the Paleo diet, I’m suddenly much more conscious of what I’m eating.  I even ate an entire piece of fish for dinner last night…first time ever.  I’ve also kept the commitment to myself to work out on the exercise bike daily, more often than not twice a day.  In 5 days I’ve lost 3lbs.  I know I said it wasn’t about the weight as long as I felt better and had more energy.  And I do, but I still can’t deny how good it felt.

2) I did write.  Two paragraphs.  I know, I should be pleased that I wrote at all considering my track record.  Still, after last week’s three pages, I’m a little disappointed.

3) Tomorrow I make my hair appointment and get a long awaited and much needed new do.  I’m so excited.  I’m going all in too; wash, condition, cut, blow dry and style.  Woohoo.

4) Still no poetry except for that lapse last week. I’m beginning to understand though, the depths of the sadness that sparked all that prose.  As much as it was a perpetuation, my poetic outlet also served as a bandage. Like a salve that one would apply regularly to a seeping wound, it was not the cure but it did help to ease the pain of the injury.  Not writing poetry has been like exposing it to the fresh air, it hurts sure…but I’m healing much faster.

5) Be kinder to myself came by way of not allowing myself think I was vain for getting excited about losing weight and by not beating myself up for writing so little.

It’s been a good week.

 

§ 10 Responses to Project 2011 – Week Four

  • makeitgiveit says:

    Hi – Nice to meet you!! I love that one of your goals is being kinder to yourself – that is awesome and 3lb – impressive. Keep up the great work. Loved your post about your daughter’s Dr Who letter too!

  • Cate says:

    You are doing amazingly Sheri! Lost weight, getting fit, cooking healthy – boy I’d love you to pop down here and give me a hand with all of those things! Am really struggling with the food issue at the mo.

    Don’t worry about the writing – some weeks it will be the focus, and other weeks, it will be your other goals.

    Here’s to you having another great week! x

    • Sheri says:

      Cate – I’m really loving the recipes I’m finding for this Paleo diet. They’re delicious and often much easier to prepare than my usual fare…that helps a lot. And I know, I gotta ease up on myself about the writing. 😀

  • Shady Lady says:

    You go girl!! Three pounds, two paragraphs, a new ‘do, emotional healing and being kinder to yourself. Wow! What a week you have had. What is even more impressive is that you did all that while stuck in the house hiding from the cold. Those are the times it is so easy to get off track. You so rock!!!

  • Dorothy says:

    Well done!

    You’re doing really well…

    I find, with poetry, that it is either a famine or a flood. There have been periods in my life when poetry just wrote itself, I could never be too far away from a pen, and other times, just nothing comes to me. I think the more I suppress my emotions, the more likely they are to come out as poetry when I finally let go… It definitely feels better than crying… so much more satisfying and productive…

    Good luck!

    • Sheri says:

      Welcome Dorothy! And thank you. Yeah, poetry is a fickle mistress and sometimes for me anyway, it can be counter-productive. Every once in a while I find a good cry can be just as satisfying. 😉

  • Candace says:

    Congratulations on your successes! You are doing a great job. 3 lbs in five days is a great incentive to keep doing what you are doing. You’re right…it’s not about losing weight…but the weightloss is an encouragement nonetheless! It’s the little things like seeing the scale move that keeps us motivated and encourages us that we are doing good things for ourselves. Keep up the good work and have a great weekend, Candace

    • Sheri says:

      Thanks Candace and Welcome! You’re right, if already I’m feeling better AND I’ve lost a few pounds…I’m doing something right. I appreciate the support. 😀

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Project 2011 – Week Four at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

