Leftover Pork and Blueberry Salad

January 28, 2011 § 6 Comments

How do you make leftover night your family’s favourite meal night?

By making the easiest and yummiest (and Paleo/Gluten Free friendly) meal I ever made.  Seriously, you’re going to LOVE this.


Leftover pork from a roast we had earlier in the week.  1/2 cup of blueberries.  1 tblsp of honey.


Leftover greens, sweet red onion and dill from the previous night’s fish dinner.

That’s it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  No kidding.

I fried up the pork with a bit of bacon until it shredded easily and then tossed it all with the greens.


Then I added the blueberries and honey to a small pot and cooked over low heat until the berries were soft.


I let the berries cool almost completely before pouring over the salad.

And that my friends is the story of the easiest and yummiest dinner I ever made!  Really, you’ve got to try it.  The best thing is you can switch it up with any leftover meat and fruit to suit your own tastes.

I hope you try it and please let me know if you do and how it worked out for you.  It was a totally off the cuff, what have I got in the fridge kind of meal.  In my experience, usually the best kind.

§ 6 Responses to Leftover Pork and Blueberry Salad

  • Shady Lady says:

    Finding Paleo is like discovering a whole new delicious way to cook and think about food. Isn’t it amazing?! It does sound delicious!! I’ll have to give it a try…not sure that LK will go for the fruit topping though. Hmmm….perhaps I’ll make it a lunch! I LOVE blueberries!!!

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – Hehe, you said it. Besides, you gotta love any diet that encourages the consumption of bacon. 😉

    I only used 1/2 cup of blueberries and I didn’t find that the salad tasted fruity at all. It was just a nice subtle accent for the pork. Think of blueberry pancakes and sausage or bacon…except with a salad instead of the pancakes. At least that’s how I justified trying putting roast pork and blueberries together. Lucky for me it worked. 😀

  • MrCrow says:

    That was indeed an awesome meal. I would have used more of the blueberry sauce were there more – but that’s just purely a matter of taste.

    The greens (sassy greens), bacon, pork and onions all blended together awesomely. Could have had 2nds, but that kind of defeats the purpose 😉

    Keep cookin’!

  • Sheri says:

    MrCrow – I’ll keep cookin’ as long as you keep eatin’ and telling me it’s awesome. 😀

  • Sheri says:

    Cate – Thank you! What a nice, albeit brief, thing to say. Seriously though, hope all is well with you. 😀

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Leftover Pork and Blueberry Salad at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

