Cabbage Cups

January 31, 2011 § 5 Comments


It’s still stupid cold up here and it’s making me grouchy.  It’s also making me do way more cooking than I normally do, which is actually a good thing.  Homemade is healthier in my opinion.

Yesterday I cooked up about 40 1″ meatballs having no idea what I was actually going to do with them.  I asked Daughter what she thought and she said, “Cabbage Cups!”  Huh?  So I asked her what the heck that was and she said she had no idea but that it sounded good.

Okkaaaay.  Good thing I like a challenge.  I did some research on the internet and finding nothing but the standard cabbage roll recipe, I went into my kitchen and hoped something would jump out at me.  It did.  My muffin tin fell on the floor at my feet while I was putting away the cookie sheet.

Fate?  Whatever, I’ll give it a go.

I boiled three cabbage leaves until just tender but not soft.  Once cooled, I cut each leave into four pieces removing the hard stemmy bit in the middle and then set them aside.

At the bottom of each cup of the muffin tin I put about 1 tblsp of tomato sauce – to keep the cabbage from scorching and/or sticking.  Then I placed a piece of the cut cabbage into each one, folding it to make a cup.

Into each cabbage cup I put two (already cooked) meatballs, some more sauce, 2 tiny cubes of mozerrella cheese, a sprinkle of diced sweet red pepper, a sprinkle of parmesan cheese and then a dollop of more sauce.  (Just omit cheese if you don’t eat it.)

Cover with tin foil and bake at 325 F for about 20 minutes or until cabbage is soft. Remove foil, turn oven off but leave in for another 10 minutes to crisp the edges of the cabbage.


Remove from the oven and let stand for as long as you like.

§ 5 Responses to Cabbage Cups

  • MrCrow says:

    Mmmmmm…now I’m even hungrier!

  • Shady Lady says:

    That sounds delicious and way easier than stuffed cabbage…if I were the one making the stuffed cabbage. The Lizard King has a few specialties that he cooks (yes, he cooks too!) and one of them is stuffed cabbage. (The others are chili, pizza, ham & cabbage and the best alfredo ever!) And it’s WAY easier to make stuffed cabbage when someone else is making the stuffed cabbage. ;P

  • Sheri says:

    MrCrow – That’s a vague measure since you always seem to be hungry. 😀

    Shady – Oh, they were sooooo good and really fun to make. And yes much easier than stuffed cabbage.

    Actually, MrCrow cooks quite a bit and very well too and he has the same specialties as Lizard King…except for the ham and cabbage. 😀

  • Shady Lady says:

    Looks like MrCrow and the Lizard King have quite a bit in common. It must go along with being great guys. 🙂

  • Cate says:

    Where on earth do you get these clever ideas?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cabbage Cups at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

