Bucking the Bog

February 12, 2011 § 4 Comments

If I’ve learned anything from my experiences with depression, and I could write a book, is that it is a beast best ignored.  Depression feeds on the slightest negative thought and is insatiably ravenous.

My best defense has always been to just find something to do and I’ve always found that helping others is the best distraction.  Committing my time to others when I feel the least like being with anyone has always been the easiest way for me to get through these tumultuous times.

For me it is a way to buck getting bogged down in my own negativity.  I find it’s healing.

Today was a perfect example in that Daughter and I went over to help some friends paint a bedroom.  It was just girls – two Moms were outnumbered by three teen girls and at times we could really feel the age gap.

Still, it was a hoot and a holler and I got some much needed social interaction.  Though not a cure for depression, it is damn good medicine.

I was also inspired and got started on putting together MY space.


A dusty table and a side chair to start.


And a big mess of stuff to go through, sort, purge and organize.

I have my week cut out for me and I’m grateful.

 

§ 4 Responses to Bucking the Bog

  • Cate says:

    Sounds like the perfect outing for you, both for the physical outing and for the fact that it has inspired you to get going with your space. Enjoy your clean out!

  • Sheri says:

    Cate – It was indeed a very positive experience on both counts. It’s going slowly but I’m just about ready to tackle the mess in the corner. 🙂

  • Shady Lady says:

    Good for you, knowing how to kick it! Getting out of the house and looking at some new walls was probably good for you, too.

    I’m excited about your new space and can’t wait to see the result. You’ve got me trying to figure out where in our house I can have a space…

  • Sheri says:

    Thanks Shady. When you’ve dealt with depression as long as I have, you pick up a few tricks that help keep it in check. 😀

    Oh you so should…just wander about and imagine taking over a corner of a room or heck a whole room if you can manage it.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bucking the Bog at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

