Peeling Back the Layers

February 20, 2011 § 6 Comments

Part of me wishes I had pictures for this post, part of me is relieved that I don’t.

On the one hand it would be very telling about how much work I’ve actually done and on the other equally as telling, and quite embarrassing, about how poor a housekeeper I have been.

I used to be a neat freak…honestly.

When it was just me and Son living on our own, my apartment was always clean and tidy.  I had a very regular routine that made it virtually impossible for clutter to build up.  I suppose it did help that we lived below the poverty line and I couldn’t afford to buy much other than necessities.

Nonetheless, over the years as we added Hubby and then Daughter to the mix I had less time to worry about pristine housekeeping and more money to collect stuff.  Of course at first, most of the stuff collected was for the kids but eventually I started buying craft supplies, fabric (so much fabric) and trinkets just for me.

Anyway…my point, if I have one, is this.  I’ve spent the last week peeling back the layers of stuff to find more stuff.  Once I’ve gotten through all the stuff and brush off the dust that’s collected on all that stuff, I find more dust.

Once I’ve cleaned up all that dust, I’m finding dirt and not just the on top kind but the ground in stuff too.

The weird thing is that as much as I loathe getting on my hands and knees to scrub away at the ground in stuff, I’m finding it extremely therapeutic to do so.  Despite it being tedious and somewhat gross to get up close and personal with the cat hair, dust and miscellaneous bits of rubbish that have collected along my baseboards, I just feel so damned accomplished once it’s done.

Am I weird?

§ 6 Responses to Peeling Back the Layers

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Peeling Back the Layers at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

