Zucchini Muffins

February 23, 2011 § 9 Comments


Though it’s warmed up some, thank goodness for small miracles, it’s still very much winter around here and I found myself baking up another batch of warm and yummy goodness this morning.  As you can see by the pic, three disappeared before I got out my camera.   Mice!  (No, not really…just me and Daughter.  I’m sure another three will disappear as soon as Hubby gets home.)

To make these you’ll need:

2  1/2 cups of grated zucchini
2/3 cup of melted butter
2 eggs, beaten
1 cup of sugar
2 cups of flour
2 tsp of vanilla
2 tsp of baking soda
2 tsp of cinnamon
1/2 tsp of nutmeg
1/4 tsp of salt

Optional:  1 cup of walnut pieces, 1 cup of dried cranberries and 48 – 1/4″ cubes of cream cheese (4 pieces per muffin).

Here’s what you do:

Preheat your oven to 350 F.

In a large bowl mix the sugar, eggs and vanilla until well combined.  Add the zucchini and melted butter and stir well.  Add the salt and baking soda and incorporate.

In a smaller bowl mix the flour, cinnamon and nutmeg until well mixed.

Mix the dry ingredients (in thirds) to the wet and mix well.  Add the walnuts and cranberries stirring gently but be sure to not over mix the batter.  Muffins are funny that way.

Fill buttered or paper lined muffin cups half way and then add two cubes of cream cheese to each cup. Fill up muffins cups until they are full.  (They should be heaping.)  Add two more cubes of cream cheese to each one.

Bake for about 25 – 30 minutes until muffins are golden brown.

If you’ve never heard of using zucchini to bake, you’re not alone.  This is a relatively new idea for me and the first time I’ve ever tried it but if you like banana bread or muffins, these are very similar.

They are really very good.  Enjoy!

§ 9 Responses to Zucchini Muffins

  • MaryP says:

    Oh, I love the idea of cream cheese chunks! I can see myself incorporating that into a couple of my own muffin recipes, too. Brilliant, and yummy, too!

  • Shady Lady says:

    The crazy thing is, I can read this recipe and say “eh”. I don’t really miss it… How cool is that?! 😉

  • Sheri says:

    Mary – Hiya! It’s been a while. Yes, the cream cheese is awesome. Actually, looking at the picture it’s hard to tell it’s cream cheese, could be white chocolate which I thought would also be very yummy. 😀

    Shady – Actually, we don’t eat a lot of breads anymore and we’ve eliminated most starches (pasta, rice etc) so we’re mostly Paleo…but to me life just isn’t worth it if I can’t enjoy a warm muffin now and again. 😉

  • Shady Lady says:

    I hope I didn’t come off snarky. I am just amazed that I’m not drooling over the muffins like I would have in the past. ;P

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – You’re so cute. No, you didn’t come off snarky at all. Did I? 😀 See, that’s the one thing I hate about text only communication. Tone and inflection are non-existent and it can be so easy to misinterpret a comment.

    No worries, you’re still my bestest on-line buddy that lives in Oregon. 😉

  • Shady Lady says:

    No, you didn’t!! Whew! And hugs… 🙂

  • Cate says:

    I’ll just hang back while you two pow-wow in the corner…..

    Finished?

    Cool – I’ve used zucchini in a cake before and it makes it really moist.

  • Sheri says:

    Cate – Hehehe, yep, we’re done. 😀

    The muffins too, very moist. I can’t wait to try a loaf or cake. 😀

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Zucchini Muffins at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

