Project 2011 – Week Ten

March 10, 2011 § 4 Comments


There’s something very “round” about the number ten that makes it feel like a milestone.  That I’m still at it gives me a sense of accomplishment in and of itself.  I’m getting so much out of this sharing of support.  You gals are so incredible, strong and inspiring that it feels a privilege to be on this journey with you.

Hat Tip to Cate @ MomentsofWhimsy (click on the pic above to link) of course, for coming up with the idea and for being our fearless leader.   😀

So here it is…

1) This week taking better care of my body has been about eating better.  We’re eating Paleo more and more and it does feel really good.  It’s amazing how so many negative thoughts we carry around about ourselves can be traced back to what we’re putting in our mouth.  (This was a side effect of the new diet that I did not expect at all.)

When I eat crap, I know it and I give myself shit for it.  Whether or not I’m conscious of it, more often I’m totally unaware of the inner dialogue, it still happens.  So not only am I carrying around unnecessary fats, sugars and all those lovely chemicals that I can’t even pronounce, I’m also cementing a negative self image, creating guilt and nurturing the sense of defeat.

Frozen blueberries and fresh spinach don’t do that to me.  In fact, they do the complete opposite.  I feel good when I eat them because I know they’re good for me.  I like feeling good about myself and the more good food I eat, the less I want to eat stuff that makes me feel like shit.  What’s the opposite of a vicious cycle?

2) I didn’t write this week but I did get Hubby to read my latest chapter – something I literally have to beg him to do – because I just needed some feedback.  He really enjoyed it and said, “You know this is why I hate doing that…now I want to read the whole thing.”   😀

3) I don’t know if I was particular kind to myself this week but I can’t recall being unkind either…so I guess that balances out.

Oh, you might notice my list is a little shorter this time around.  I’ve decided to revise my goals and dump one that wasn’t going anywhere (pampering) and one that was redundant (not writing poetry).

I haven’t quite decided what I’ll replace them with yet but I should have it sorted by next week.  Looking forward to checking out everyone else’s progress.

 

 

§ 4 Responses to Project 2011 – Week Ten

  • Bernie says:

    What is Paleo? Good for you and healthy eating. I really should work on that. Summer is coming, I will never have a beach bod, but at least so I’m not a beach blob.

    That is a cool thing that your hubby doesn’t care to proofread and walked away wanting more. You go girl. Is it going to be a surprise as to what your book is about? I’m nosy.

    I think its good to revise goals if the previous ones are not working. Why bang your head against the wall?

    Good job this week!

  • Cate says:

    Hear hear to what Bernie said in regards to revising goals – all part of the journey I figure.

    And hubby’s reaction is brilliant – keep writing! 🙂

  • Lisa says:

    Hey Lady!!! Are you getting my e-mails? (The whole two I’ve sent??) E-mail me, chica…..

  • Sheri says:

    Bernie – Paleo is short for paleolithic diet or caveman diet. It’s less a diet and more a lifestyle. Basically it’s about eating nuts and berries, meats and vegetation while trying to stay away from processed foods, starchy grains and refined sugar.

    There’s lots of info on the net that’s worth checking out.

    Actually, that’s why Hubby doesn’t care to proofread, he always wants to know what’s going to happen next. 😉

    No, it’s not necessarily a surprise though I would like to be further along before I start actually writing about what I’m writing. 😉

    Cate – That’s what I figure too. 😀 And I will keep writing…Hubby’s encouragement is just what I needed.

    Lisa – Wrote you back already. Thanks for the kick in the pants. 😛

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Project 2011 – Week Ten at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

