The Longest Day of the Year

March 13, 2011 § 6 Comments

At midnight last night we set the clocks forward an hour.  Three hours later we woke up so Hubby was ready for his cab to the airport.

I haven’t slept since and I’m well passed exhausted.  Hubby has just arrived safely in Victoria, B.C. (3000 miles away) and I’m ready for bed even though it’s only 4:00 pm.

At the last minute the federal gov’t (Hubby’s employer), in its infinite wisdom, decided that they needed Hubby twice as long as they thought and he’ll be gone ten days instead of the original five.  *sigh*

I’m disappointed for sure but I’m keeping close to my heart how long Shady lived without her Lizard King (also taking into account just how far away he was) and I’m considering myself lucky.

As much as I already miss him and know that it will only get worse, I also know that ten days is but a drop in the bucket and it’ll be less than three after he gets home before I start wondering why I missed him in the first place.

Just kidding…sort of.   😉

So for now, after I’ve had a good night’s sleep anyway, I’m looking forward to this “just us girls” time with Daughter.  We have no plans aside from the cooking class Daughter has signed up for so it’s pretty much a free for all.

Hehehehehehehehehehehehe….

Don’t sweat it MrCrow – we know how to have a good time without breaking the bank.  😉

 

 

 

 

§ 6 Responses to The Longest Day of the Year

  • MrCrow says:

    I don’t do these things cuz I worry whether bank will be broken. I do these thing so we can afford to break the bank when we want to. 🙂

    That and the fact that sinece #1 son moved out we are actually getting ahead of the game 🙂

  • Sheri says:

    Oh you provider you. 😉

    Hope you’re settling in okay. Miss you.

  • Bernie says:

    Mr. Bernie always says, “How can I miss you if you don’t go away?” As someone who lives and works with her hubby, I would enjoy it if he went out of town. If I didn’t see him all day then I would feel like you do. *hugs*
    Enjoy your fun night with your daughter.

  • Sheri says:

    Bernie – Thanks for the hugs. Actually it’s kind of a dream of mine to be able to work with Hubby. Most of the time I feel like I’m sitting around waiting for him to get home. Now I’ve got 9 straight days of that.

    Daughter and I are having a blast, thanks. 😀

  • Cate says:

    Hope that the all-girl party is going well and that hubby is safe and well.

    Mine is flying down to Christchurch on Thursday now to oversee rebuilding of a damaged building for his company. Given all of the aftershocks that they are still getting down there, it should be fun 🙂

  • Sheri says:

    Cate – Thanks. Yes, all is good here on both counts.

    Oh, that’s got to be a worry. Hope all goes with Hubby in Christchurch.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Longest Day of the Year at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

