Inspiration + No Hubby = A New Hobby

March 14, 2011 § 6 Comments

I’ve been so inspired by Bernie @ One Mixed Bag and her courageous dive into crafting…specifically card making.  She makes some of the prettiest handmade cards I’ve ever seen.

After thinking about it some and coming to the conclusion that at an average of $5.00 a pop for store bought cards, I’d rather pay for handmade and/or make my own.

To that end, I went to the craft store today…


and spent a lot, way more than I had intended, on card making supplies.  The way I figure it, this stuff will have paid for itself by mid-summer if I make cards for every occasion instead of buying them.

I think I will be adding this endeavour to my Project 2011 goals.

§ 6 Responses to Inspiration + No Hubby = A New Hobby

  • Bernie says:

    Thank you. *blush* You know I’m just a newbie. *lol*
    I have that Old World Stack of paper. Where do you buy your supplies? Its a nice start.

    Remember the Graphics Fairy has great free clip art. http://www.graphicsfairy.blogspot.com/ She has a search button on the right side, so you can look for what you want.

    If you haven’t bought them yet, I love using water color pencils. I will either print a picture off or stamp in black and color in with the pencils.

    I’m so proud!

  • Sheri says:

    Bernie – I got my supplies at Micheals. It’s our best one stop shopping for craft supplies. I’ve used (have some around somewhere) watercolour pencils and think they’re awesome…what a great idea. 😀

  • Cate says:

    Oh my goodness – you’ve both gone over to the dark side!!

    (Says she who has a ton of stamps and bits and pieces stashed away for card making….)

  • Sheri says:

    Cate – I haven’t had much of a chance yet to play with all those bits and pieces but I’m really looking forward to it.

  • makeitgiveit says:

    I look forward to seeing what you will make! Good on you for trying something new. Love that retail, craft buzz!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Inspiration + No Hubby = A New Hobby at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

