Project 2011 – Week Eleven

March 17, 2011 § 8 Comments


Thanks to Cate @ Moments of Whimsy (click on the pic above to link) as always for inspiring this regular documenting of goals and supporting one another along the way.

Well, it’s been an interesting week for me.

Hubby is away and while I miss him terribly, I’m also reveling in the opportunity to get back to my single parent, I’m a strong independent woman and can meet any challenge, roots.  Not that I have any desire to go back to that full-time…no thanks.  Still, it’s nice to know I can still manage on my own if I have to, I’m just really glad I don’t have to anymore.

To that end, I’ve spent most of the week simply taking care of basics and haven’t really done much work on any specific goal.  I have however decided to add making homemade cards to my list…


This is my first card.  I bought the purple cards pre-cut packaged in a discount bin at my craft store.  I thought they were really cute.  I added the stamp and though it’s not quite perfectly centered, it’s pretty good for a first go.

I’m going to use the calligraphy pen for a Happy Birthday message and if I’m okay with the results then my BF is getting it for her birthday on Sunday…if I’m unhappy with the results then I’ll keep trying until I am.  Or until I run out of cards.  😉

That’s pretty much it this week for my goals but I want to leave with this pic,

for us girls who at least once in our teens suffered from…

Sleepover Hangover

This was Daughter this afternoon around 4:00 pm, just over three hours after I picked her up from her friends’ house from a sleepover.  They were up until nearly 5:00 am watching movies, playing board games and pigging out on chips and snacks.

I’m so grateful, too well aware of what she “could” be doing, I let her sleep and just smile…and take her picture.

She may not be anywhere near doing what I was at her age, she still will be doing it eventually and at some point I’ve got to deal with it.

*sigh*

 

§ 8 Responses to Project 2011 – Week Eleven

  • anjobanjo22 says:

    Good luck with your card making. I thought about taking calligraphy class but I may already have too much on my plate right now. Maybe next time though! 🙂

    • Sheri says:

      Thank you! My calligraphy is very informal and really more just stylized script. I don’t have the patience for serious technique learning. 😀

  • Bernie says:

    I love, love, love that card. The stamp is cute. I wish I knew how to do calligraphy. You go girl!!

    • Sheri says:

      Well, thank, thank, thank you. 😀 Yeah, me too. That stamp is my favourite so far. Actually I wish I knew how to do calligraphy too…really, what I do is just fancy script with a nib pen. 😀

  • loz8188 says:

    Gorgeous card! I’ve just been given a stack of lovely papers and don’t know how to start with the card making so if you have any suggestions I would love to hear them : ) x

    • Sheri says:

      Hi there! Thanks. Hmmm suggestions, get yourself a pair or two of shaped shears (scissors that cut designs into paper), maybe a pretty stamp or two and some coloured pencils…that’s a great place to start. Once you get started you’ll be coming up with all kinds of ideas for embellishments. Most importantly though, just have fun.

  • Cate says:

    Finally checking in 🙂

    Love the stamp, and I’m thinking that when I find my craft stuff again down the track, you Bernie & I should do a card swap.

    Great pic of the girl too – you’ve entered that time of life with the kids where a sleepover no longer means “sleep” – ain’t it grand? 😉

    • Sheri says:

      Hiya Cate – I think that’s an awesome idea! I’m up for it for sure. And yep, another stage in the parenting a teen journey. 😀

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Project 2011 – Week Eleven at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

