Random Acts of Kindness

March 21, 2011 § 7 Comments

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I wasn’t looking forward to today.  Despite it being the first day of Spring here, Hubby’s absence and his can’t-come-soon-enough homecoming preoccupy my thoughts.  Only 27 hours more to go.

I’ve been fortunate in that the timing (March Break and BF’s Birthday) made for lots of distracting activity and I really didn’t have too much time to get too lonesome.  Still, I knew today would be the kicker and I set out to make it as positive as possible.

That it is until about 7 1/2 minutes after I woke up and noticed this…


I actually sobbed a little…okay, I freakin’ cried.  Yesterday the walkway and driveway were clear.  Yesterday I spent 40 minutes clearing a path to the deck and then scraping snow off the deck so I could sit out there on nice days…like YESTERDAY.

I decided to go out sooner rather than later to run my errands.  The snow was supposed to turn to rain (and it has) and that’s just yucky driving conditions.  So out I went and spent 20 minutes in the wet snow brushing 5cm of it off the car and asking myself the old standby, “Why do I live here?”

The trip was slow but uneventful, I learned how to drive in the winter and I think that helps, and I returned home safely just under an hour after I left.

Here’s the random act of kindness part…

In my mailbox was a package.  I knew what it was, I smiled a happy six year old grin and opened it before I took my coat or boots off…sitting on the bench in the front hall.


Lookit what Bernie @ One Mixed Bag (I’ve linked to her Card Hop page) sent me!!!!  Aren’t they lovely?  I’m so in love with the vintage images and Bernie’s subtle embellishments are awesome.  I’ve already decided that a couple of them are going into frames instead of envelopes.  😀

This random act of kindness couldn’t have come at a better time.  I really was feeling very low before I got her package.  Whether it’s coincidence or divine intervention doesn’t  matter, I’m just so grateful to Bernie for her thoughtfulness and generosity.

She truly made my day.

§ 7 Responses to Random Acts of Kindness

  • Shady Lady says:

    Wow! That is so cool!! (The ROK part, not the snow…) Bernie rocks!! The cards are beautiful!!

    One more sleep…
    (Oh…and I have two new posts up now.)

  • Bernie says:

    I’m glad they got there today instead of earlier. Sounded like they were a perfect pick me up.
    Which one are you going to frame?

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – Doesn’t she though? And I agree, her cards are beautiful. Yes, down to 24 hours now and one more sleep. 😀

    Bernie – I’m glad too, the timing was perfect. I’m definitely framing the girl in the flower crown. The colours are just stunning. Also I’m thinking, the girl with the parasol or sunbrella as I call it.

  • Cate says:

    How wonderful! Good on ya Bernie (said with broad Australian accent).

    Chin up Sheri xx

  • […] couple of my blog friends also had posts about cards this week.  I sent Sheri from My Leftover Life some cards and she did a blog post about it. That made my day. She is going to start making cards […]

  • Coupon Queen says:

    I love Bernie’s cards, she has sent me a couple and I agree, they are frame worthy! I am so glad you had a little bit of cheer in the middle of such an ishy day! We were lucky and the snow missed us, very unusual but I will take it! Have a great evening, I hope your weekend is great! 🙂

  • Sheri says:

    CP – They are awesome, aren’t they? Thanks, it was a great weekend, hope yours was too. 😀

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Random Acts of Kindness at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

