Cats – Because They’re Everywhere

April 10, 2011 § 7 Comments

For many, many years now we’ve been a household with as many, sometimes more, cats as people living together.

We started out with just two, Mooncrow and Shade, hubby’s cats.  But they’ve both passed on, as has Karma, who was…even as cats go…a personality all unto her own and lived up to her name.  We miss them all dearly.

Still, presently…

here are Rosie and Darth our two eldest. You figure out which is which.  😉  Do you notice how they’re sort of casually hanging about pretending they’re not aware of the others’ presence?

Ha! These are the two that I’ll find boxing in the fireplace room.  They’ll growl and scream all the while throwing and pawing each other in a hilarious kitty death match.  Who needs the WWF?

Sheesh…now I know why I didn’t have more children.  “Okay, enough! Break it up you two.”

This is Hercules, a black and white short hair that has pretty distinct markings of white muzzle, chest and paws.  I recently learned that they’re referred to as “tuxedo” cats.  Made perfect sense to me and I thought it was quite apt.

He’s a stray that just happened across our back door a few years ago.  Injured and hungry we fed him and took him to the vet not really planning to keep him but just making sure he was okay.  $800 later, yep…we were keeping him. Though really, I think it was more a matter of him deciding he was keeping us.


And this is our latest addition, Panther.  She was one of Son’s cats who moved in with him last summer.  It’s a long story but in the end when Son moved back out on his own in January, Panther stayed.  She’s a pistol. Don’t let her size fool you.  She’s nearly two years old, though she still looks and acts like she’s only 6 months.

The thing is, she’s an indoor cat and that has just recently started venturing out into “the big room”.  The one with trees and birds and squirrels, oh my!  It’s hilarious to watch.  And yet, like a toddler, I worry when she wanders off too far.

Seriously…I need to start working on my novel.  😀

 

 

§ 7 Responses to Cats – Because They’re Everywhere

  • Shady Lady says:

    You kitties are very sweet. I adore the names you’ve chosen, too!

  • Bernie says:

    Oh, I love Darth! I’m partial to Maine Coons. You have very purty fur kids.
    I worry when our little one goes out into the “big room” too.

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – They are cute, aren’t they? Truth be told, I’ve personally only named two. Hercules and Rosie are my doing. Hubby named all of the ones who have passed on and Darth and Panther came to us pre-named.

    Bernie – I have to agree, Maine Coons are a special lot…something about their neurotic personalities that speaks to me. 😀 Yep, the “big room”. Hubby was the first person I ever heard use that term and I loved it right away.

  • Cate says:

    “Seriously…I need to start working on my novel.”

    Hahahahahaha

    Love the kitties though 🙂

  • Beth Ann says:

    Love the kitties!!! Coming over from Bernie’s at One Mixed Bag. I have 2 felines of my own right now and they are spoiled rotten. They even have a North Tower and South Tower as my husband recently observed. I am not a crazy cat lady….yet……

  • Sheri says:

    Cate – Hehehe, I knew you’d appreciate that. The things we’ll do to procrastinate. 😀 Thanks, I like them too.

  • Sheri says:

    Beth Ann – Thanks for stopping by! Yep, it’s a cat’s life for sure. I think I’ve thrown in the towel on the crazy cat lady and just accepted that I am her. There are worse things I could be. 😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cats – Because They’re Everywhere at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

