Oh, Happy Day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

April 16, 2011 § 4 Comments

Days like today don’t come along very often so when they do, I think it’s just cause to give out a great big, “WooHoo!!!”

First, it started off with a last minute invite to go shopping at our local thrift shop with a good friend.  Always a treat and loads of fun.  There, I found…


A set of very pretty couch cushions that will go great with the new couch that’s coming in a couple of weeks.  I paid $8.oo for the set.  You heard me.  Score!  I’m so excited, I can’t wait to see how my new grown up living room is going to look.

Okay…now if that wasn’t enough, oh man, I’m so tickled…


A (previously owned (god bless her soul who ever she is) and perfectly worn in), pair of new favourite jeans.  I swear they fit better than any other pair I’ve ever owned. They’re not too loose, they’re not too tight. They accentuate the right parts and disguise the not so right parts. They’re faded grey cotton with just a hint of spandex with a low rise waist and boot leg cut.  I LOVE them!!  Also, only $8.00.  Oh and the spots…that’s just rain.

I was trying them on and walking around in them when I noticed something out back and then went outside in the pouring rain to take pictures of…


DUCKIES IN THE POOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I know it’s a horrible pic but I was trying not to get wet while also trying to contain my excitement so I didn’t scare them.

I wish I had the words to explain my delight at seeing them. You’d think with my poetic tendencies it would be easy but it’s really not. I write prose about stuff that’s familiar and usually already partially digested.  This kind of joy and the faith it inspires in me is still kind of new.

And I really did miss them last year.  I sincerely hope they stick around for awhile.  I love communing with them, feeding them and just watching them do their ducky thing.  The longer they stay too, the more inspired I am to learn about them.

What a great day!

§ 4 Responses to Oh, Happy Day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Shady Lady says:

    Yay!!!! They’re back!!! Ya know, I was reading through thinking “wow, nice pillows!” and “how awesome to find the perfect pair of jeans”. Then I paged down and saw them and said, “The ducks are back!!!” out loud and had to show LK. I’m so happy… 😀

  • Cate says:

    Yay – I remember how you loved the ducks and were sad when they didn’t come last year. We’ve had a number suddenly appear around our house too – although I think shooting season kicks in soon, so I hope that they stay safe.

    Am envious of your perfect jeans for such a good price!

  • Bernie says:

    Score! Its always fun when you go to the thrift store and find things you can use that are great. The jeans I think are awesome for you!
    Awwww, you have duckies!! They are pretty.

  • Sheri says:

    Thanks ladies. I was so pleased to see them. Although it was already a really good day, seeing them made it great.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Oh, Happy Day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

