Project 2011 – Week Seventeen

April 28, 2011 § 3 Comments

Week seventeen, wow.  Technically, it was last week that was 4 months but it’s really only hitting home this week that a third of the year has now passed.  I’m the type who uses birthdays, anniversaries and holidays as sign posts to mark my life’s journey.  I take more pictures, I write more and I make life changes, some subtle and others not so.

Right now I want to take stock of the goals I set in January and have already changed since then…

1) Take better care of my body.

I justified this vague goal so as not to put too much pressure on myself and to ease into a healthier lifestyle.  What I’ve discovered is that trying to ease my way into a healthier lifestyle is like trying to ease my way out of a lazyboy chair after the third glass of wine.  I just grab a blanket because I’m not going anywhere.

“Do or do not…there is no try.”  Yoda

2) Finish writing the first draft of my novel.

This started off okay but I think, again, I’ve gone too wide with this goal.  Perhaps I need to break it down into smaller pieces.  It’s difficult to put together a puzzle when you have no idea what the final picture looks like.  I think I really need to go back to the beginning with this and figure out if it’s something I really want to pursue right now.

3) Be kinder to myself.

I actually think this is a keeper goal.  Over the last several months I’ve been making a conscious effort to not let myself get away with putting myself down.  I’ve been allowing myself to take pride in my meager but still invaluable contributions to my family and home. I even bought myself a bouquet of flowers.  All of this led me to wanting to be kinder to and more appreciative of the people I have in my life.  By making myself happy, I have more inspiration and a deeper desire to make others happy.  Who knew?

4) I recently added making handmade cards.

Well, I’m still making cards and having a blast doing it.  Still, I think I’m going to switch this up to a more general be-some-sort-of-crafty-this-week goal. I STILL have Daughter’s Tom Baker (Dr. Who) scarf to finish, I have a coffee table I want to strip, sand and varnish and I have all kinds of canvases, paints and brushes calling my name.

For the next third of the year, I want to add keeping on top of my garden as another goal.  It’s not a big task and after a couple of years experience we’re in for fewer surprises than when were newbies and were overrun by cucumbers.  Still, I always have big plans for harvesting and storing but always end up with more waste than I like.  I’m hoping to improve on that this year.

That’s my Project 2011 for this week.  Off to check out how everyone else is doing.  😀

§ 3 Responses to Project 2011 – Week Seventeen

  • Bernie says:

    Sounds good. I’m so glad that you are not going to be so hard on yourself. That made me smile.
    The garden is a great thing to have as a goal for right now. Soon it will be time for the Mr. and I go to shopping for the garden. I just point at pretty stuff. There my job is done for the season.

  • Shady Lady says:

    Yoda is so wise!! You know you really can do it. Of course, it would be easier if you lived here and had Freckles and me as support. Just sayin’ 😉

    And yes, if/when you’re ready to write, you will!

    Being kinder is my favorite goal you have. I think Yoda would agree.

    I love craftiness. You need to be sure to post photos of whatever you craft!

  • Cate says:

    I think that the kindness goal is a biggie too. All the others sort of flow from that one.

    And let’s face it – a happy mum means a happy home 🙂

    You are doing great girl.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Project 2011 – Week Seventeen at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

