I’m Sick…

May 1, 2011 § 5 Comments

Well, it’s that time I guess and considering that I only get sick like this once a year I probably shouldn’t whinge.

But boy has this one really knocked me out.  I woke up Wednesday feeling off and overtired but still managed a full day of normal activity with only a random complaint.  Thursday I was knew I was sick but still managed to keep it mostly to myself until late afternoon.

By Friday morning though, it was a full blown snot fest complete with throbbing headache, alternating sweats and chills and the oft heard echo, “I haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaate beeeeeiiiing sick.”

To which I could have sworn I heard someone utter, “Well, it’s no picnic for us either.”

Anyway, I sulked my way through 3 1/2 Harry Potter movies before I finally caved in and took some cold pills.  I’m as stubborn as a mule when it comes to medication and I will, Hubby insists needlessly, suffer through days of symptoms before resorting to pharmaceuticals.

I’ll try vitamins, herbs and home remedies of course…I’m not a martyr. I don’t believe that if I just wish it hard enough, I’ll get better. Vitamin C, Ginger Tea and Chicken Soup are usually my first line of defense, along with as much sleep as I can get in.

But when all that fails and my nose is leaking from congestion, I haven’t gotten more than two hours of sleep in a row and I can’t hear someone talking beside me for the pounding in my head well then, somethings gotta give.

Around 7:00 pm on Friday I took two extra strength cold pills – the nighttime ones that clear congestion, quiet cough, reduce fever and relieve pain – and crawled into bed to resume where I left off in the last Harry Potter movie I was watching.  Hubby came in 20 minutes later, took one look at me and laughed.

“I see you finally took those pills.”

“Huh,” was all I could muster. Despite the fact that I was sitting up, staring at the t.v. with knitting in my hand, I was apparently somewhere off in lalaland. (I know, it rhymes…sometimes it just happens.)

And the man I love, the one whom I know loves me, gently took my knitting out of my hands and put it away.  He pulled back the blankets and tucked me in. He kissed me on the forehead, turned down the volume on the t.v. and turned off the light before quietly closing the door behind him as we went to hang out with Daughter.

So yeah, I’m not going to whinge.  I’m still feeling under the weather but I still managed to get a little bit of cleaning up and weeding done in the backyard yesterday and we had a fun family day out at the Pet Store today.

Yep, the Pet Store. Don’t underestimate your local pet store as a great field trip opportunity. It’s a great way to see an assortment of domestic animals, learn about how to care for them and work out how much it costs.  And it’s free!

Hope everyone had a good weekend.

§ 5 Responses to I’m Sick…

  • Shady Lady says:

    Sheri, reading that post, I thought you were talking about me! I’m sick, too. I am now at the chicken soup phase. It is heating on the stove as I type. I even had a fever! Haven’t had one of those in years! I was planning to put the starts in the ground today. Yeah. That didn’t happen.

    We used to do the pet store when we first moved back to Portland and were dead broke. Wonderful free field trip!

    Feel better soon!!

  • Cate says:

    Oh I feel for you and Shady, having suffered my bout of flu last month. It just hangs around doesn’t it? Unlike you though, I tend to reach for the cold and flu meds pretty quickly!

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – Oh sorry to hear that. Fevers are the worst, aren’t they? I too had to put off some gardening on the nicest days we’ve had in weeks because of this stupid cold. I hope you’re feeling better.

    Cate – Thankfully this isn’t a flu, just a nasty head cold. Yeah, Hubby thinks I’m a bit of a nutter that I suffer needlessly when there’s perfectly good meds out there that will make me more comfortable.

  • Bernie says:

    Oh, no. I’m sorry you are sick. You stubborn last minute pill taker you.
    Very nice of hubby to take the knitting out of your hand and tuck you in.
    Feel better soon!

  • Sheri says:

    Bernie – Thanks. I’m feeling better, and yeah, he’s a sweetie. 😀

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I’m Sick… at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

