Where Truth Meets Embarrassment

May 14, 2011 § 4 Comments

The truth is, we move around a lot.  Not beyond the front door mind you because we’ve lived in the same house for over 13 years.  But inside we’ve switched bedrooms pretty consistently for the last 5 years.  Ever since Son moved out, and moved back in and then moved out again and then moved back in again and then out and then back in…you get the idea.

About two years ago though during one of these transitional periods we moved Daughter into the master bedroom because it has an ensuite bathroom.  It just made sense to give her the space and privacy that a teenage girl deserves, especially while the rest of the household was so erratic.

Anyway, when we made that move we weren’t really thinking about the closet space and left a lot of our crap in one of the double closets while she stored (by way of just tossing things in) her stuff in the other.

Enter one of Son’s cats that moved in with him last year and stayed with us when Son left in January.  We knew she had litter box issues.  She’s fine to use them to poop but she has quite the aversion to peeing in them, as is testament by the puddles of piddle we often find on the floor beside the boxes and the occasional puddle around the house.

Not a big deal really and we were thinking that because she’s started hanging out outside, that she would use the opportunity to take her aversion outside.  What we didn’t know was that she had already found a quiet out of the way place to pee that no one ever bothered her about.

That is until I went rummaging through Daughter’s closet looking for the very pretty and very expensive summer dress I bought her last year.  We have a wedding coming up and I wanted to make sure it was cleaned and pressed.

Oh my!  As soon as I opened the closet door I was assaulted by the awesome rank of cat pee.  That on top of the utter mess of clothes and crap strewn about the floor of the closet told me much more than I wanted to know.

“When on earth was the last time you opened this closet?”

Daughter just shrugged and said, “I don’t know? Why?”

“Why?  What do you mean why? Come here and just take a whiff!”

“Ewwwwww, that’s gross.”

“It’s YOUR room, you mean to tell me you didn’t notice that stink.”

“No, not really.”

OMG! What is it with teenagers and their sense of smell?

Anyway, I found her dress and it was, to put it mildly, a horrible stinking and stained mess.  I wanted to both cry and scream at the same time.  I did neither and just grumbled my way to the washing machine praying for a miracle.

I did manage to save the dress.  Thank You Billy Mays, RIP.  I washed the dress in hot water with a double dose of OxyClean, twice.  It did the trick, removing both the stains and the smell.  That was yesterday.

Today Daughter and I spent 3, very unpleasant, hours totally emptying out both closets, sorting and purging the contents.  4 1/2 garbage bags, 2 loads of hopefully saveable laundry and 3 boxes of old toys later we got them both cleaned out.

I’m embarrassed that it happened, I’m disgusted that it was so bad but I’m relieved that it’s done and I’m hopeful that we can prevent anything like that from ever happening again.

Believe me, I’ll be watching that little kitty’s every move and working with her to get a handle on her litter box issues.  If it doesn’t work out though, I have no problem with trying to find her a home on a farm somewhere.

So, how was your Saturday?

§ 4 Responses to Where Truth Meets Embarrassment

  • Shady Lady says:

    Oh my goodness! What a feat you have accomplished. And I’m impressed that you have not found that farm already. Your patience is amazing!

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – It was quite the feat. And I think I owe much of my patience to Son who has been testing it for the better part of a decade. 😀

  • Bernie says:

    Wow! *lol* Its not nice to laugh. I just don’t get how she didn’t notice. Glad you got the dress clean.
    We had a cat who was the same way. She started after we moved. She finally had to go.
    One tip the vet gave us, that didn’t work: Keep the cat in a bathroom with a littler box and her food. She won’t pee on the floor with her food next to her. I think it was a couple weeks they wanted us to do that. We tried, it didn’t take.
    Good Luck!

  • Sheri says:

    Bernie – I don’t know how she didn’t notice either but when Son was about 16, he seemed to be oblivious to the smell of the rotting half a baloney sandwich under his bed. Like I said, I think it has something to do with being a teenager. I dunno, just getting used to your own increase in body odour secretions? But I’d bet money that there’s some scientific data to back me up. 😀

    As for the cat, well…we’re hoping that the simple fact we’ve found her secret spot, cleaned it up and removed the smell will help. Add to that we’re encouraging her to go outside more and regularly picking her up and putting her in a litter box.

    The bathroom/food idea doesn’t seem practical to me and I’m not surprised it didn’t work. I am sorry though that you had to give a pet up, I am dreading that possibility. If it’s not a physical problem, which we’re sure it isn’t, it’s psychological. I think cats are like humans in that, they are best treated with patience and compassion and not separation and isolation.

    Oh lord, am I a crazy cat lady in the making or what??

    Thanks for the well wishes. 😀

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Where Truth Meets Embarrassment at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

