Sisterhood

May 16, 2011 § 8 Comments

My sister came by for an impromptu visit last night.  It was a strangely beautiful experience.

Most of my readers, meaning three out of four, know that my sister and I have, at best, a strained relationship.  It’s a truly epic love/hate/love story.  Being that together we endured and survived a truly horrific childhood and have only ever had each to rely on since we were very young, as we grew up we both dealt with the trauma very differently.

Actually, our parents and childhood experiences are pretty much all we have in common.  From our looks, she’s blond and blue eyed, I’m dark haired and brown eyed, all the way to our personalities, she’s a confident and loud extrovert while I’m an insecure and quiet introvert.

We don’t like the same books, movies or t.v. shows.  We don’t have any similar hobbies, mine being more subdue and crafty, hers being more active and outdoorsy.  I garden while she sits in a lawn chair soaking up the sun.  We really couldn’t be more different.

Except for the creepy fact that we have almost identical voices.  Which was tons of fun when were teenagers and on the phone with boys.  😛

I’m digressing.

My point to this post is to document and share the rare occasion that we get together and revel in each other’s company, laugh about the things going on in our lives and embrace each other for having been through hell and back together.

We really should do that more often.

§ 8 Responses to Sisterhood

  • Beth Ann says:

    Awww….glad you had a good sister moment. Hang on to that and maybe they will become more frequent.

  • Sheri says:

    Beth – Welcome to my blog! I’ve seen you over at Bernie’s…love your comments. 😀

    And thanks, I’m happy about it and hope our visits become more than just the odd one.

  • Bernie says:

    I don’t have a sister, only a younger brother. We had a good childhood, but don’t really play well together. So I can relate that when you do have a good visit, it means a lot.

    *waving* Hi Beth!!

  • Shady Lady says:

    Wow! How cool that you had a good visit. Cherish it. But you know that. Times like that don’t come along often. But you know that, too. And you know that I know where you’re coming from. xoxo

  • MrCrow says:

    I’m on only child, I will never understand…no real desire to at this stage in my life 😀

  • Sheri says:

    Bernie – Thanks, it was a nice change. 😀

    Shady – I know, that you know, that I know…you know what I mean. 😛

    MrCrow – You don’t understand but you deal with. Thanks. 😛

  • Cate says:

    So glad to hear that you have had a positive encounter with family – it’s been rough for you in the past x

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sisterhood at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

