Wherein I Finally Decide to NOT Pull My Hair Out

June 11, 2011 § 4 Comments

I’ve grown as a parent.  Only took me two kids and 23 years but I’ve finally learned that cutting apron strings is more than a simple saying and that it hurts as much as though you were cutting through your own heart.

Like labour and the act of giving birth though, it’s a good pain.  It’s a pain borne of promise, of hope and of brand new beginnings.  A little esoteric?  Yeah, but I do have a point.

A phone conversation:

Son: Hi Mom.  I just wanted your advice about something.

Me: Okay, sure.  What’s up?

Son: Well, we just got 30 days notice.  GF and I are getting kicked out.

Me: Oh.

Son: It seems ROOMMATE (who’s name is on the lease) is expecting us to blah, blah, blah.

The blah, blah, blah went on for sometime and as most of you know, I’ve been listening to his blah, blah, blah for over five years.

Me:  -rolling my eyes and praying for a sudden power outage that will make the phone go dead-  And?

Son: I just wanted to know what you think about that.

Me: I don’t think anything about it. It’s your life and your issue.

Son: Well, ROOMMATE blah, blah, blah…

Me: Look, you’re almost 23 years old…

Son: Yeah, and ROOMMATE is 25 and acts like she’s 6.

Me: -rolling my eyes even further back and praying for the strength to resist just hanging up on him- This is your problem and you’re going to have to deal with it.

Son: Oh.  -long silence–  Okay.  We still good for a BBQ on Sunday?

Me: Of course, though it’s probably going to be too cold to swim.  But I’ll leave that up to you.

The thing about this exchange is that normally I would be fretting, worrying and feeling guilty about the situation he’s gotten himself into.  I’m not doing that anymore.

I am finally comfortable leaving his life up to him. I’ve done the best I could, I probably meddled more and longer than I should have but I know that I was a good Mom and now I have to leave it at that.

 

 

§ 4 Responses to Wherein I Finally Decide to NOT Pull My Hair Out

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wherein I Finally Decide to NOT Pull My Hair Out at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

