And Mama Bird Sighed

June 12, 2011 § 5 Comments

Yesterday was heady post though I tried to make light of it.  Despite the milestone of actually telling Son that I had no thoughts about the situation he had found himself in, I was in fact deeply concerned about this continuing pattern.

It’s not that I want in any way to come off as uncaring, because I do very much.  It’s just that at this point in the game, my two cents, more often than not, usually ends up making matters worse.  I had to try being indifferent.  I had to just trust him.

Guess what?! It worked.

Son and GF came over today for a swim (I can’t believe they actually got in) and a BBQ.  While were in between the two activities we sat in the gazebo and chatted.

I asked them how the roommate situation was going.

In unison they happily replied, “Oh, we found a place.”

And mama bird sighed and smiled, “Good. That’s why I didn’t stick my nose into it, I knew you guys would work it out.”

They then told me about the situation, without the blah, blah, blah, and I told them, only a couple, of my thoughts and offered one or two bits of advice and added how proud I was of both of them for sorting things out.

Trustworthiness first requires trust.  *sigh*  I wish it hadn’t taken me so long to get that one.

§ 5 Responses to And Mama Bird Sighed

  • Shady Lady says:

    Well check you all out!! Should I hang on to this post in case I need a reminder in 15 years? I love how beautifully this all worked out!! Go you!!! 🙂

  • Sheri says:

    I know eh? How cool is that? I’m also thinking that GF is a good influence on Son. It maybe that she’s smartening him up some. They do say that behind every good man is a saintly woman…something like that. 😉

  • MrCrow says:

    I’d likely be worm food by now if it weren’t for you 😀 Live fun and fast, leave a good lookin’ corpse was my motto,

    Amazing how a relationship can smarten a guy up.

  • Bernie says:

    Oh, that is great. Sometimes a new GF is just what a boy needs to get him in line.

  • Cate says:

    Fantastic to hear and am with you on the GF thing. Son has a lovely one at the mo and it makes such a difference to his behaviour & self esteem. Am hoping that it lasts!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading And Mama Bird Sighed at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

