36 subtract 15 or Thinking Backwards

June 15, 2011 § 5 Comments

Hubby came home today and asked how many rows I have left on Daughter’s scarf.

I twitched a little.  Really? It’s not enough that I’ve spent seemingly endless hours over the last two weeks furiously clacking away, you want me to actually THINK about how close I am to finally being done?

I gave him the only answer that I could muster, “36 subtract 15.”  At the time, I just wasn’t ready to think about being done, what I would do with my time once it was finally over.  I was still thinking backwards.

I was thinking about a year and a half ago when I decided to take this on and all the little bits of life that have happened since I started this project.  It really has been a crazy time and during all of it, I had the scarf to go back to.

Those markings represent rows of the coloured blocks that make up the scarf, my pattern.  I’ve also been using that pen, the same one, the whole time.  It’s odd I guess but I’ve grown attached to them both.  When things were bad and I didn’t know what to do with myself, I found solace in the repetitive consistency of jotting down my progress, even if it was one row at a time.

I think I’ll be a little sad when I’m actually, finally finished it.  I’ll be thrilled for Daughter of course, I know how much it means to her and she’s been so patient.  For me though, things have changed so much since I started it that I won’t be able to help lamenting…a little.

For the most part however, I’m pretty sure I’ll be relieved and just happy that I can move on to something else.

 

§ 5 Responses to 36 subtract 15 or Thinking Backwards

  • Shady Lady says:

    Oh my gosh! It looks fabulous!!! You all must be so excited.

    So. What’cha gonna make next. 😉 Sorry . . . couldn’t resist.

  • Sheri says:

    Thanks Shady. Daughter is excited, me, I’m ecstatic! 😀 Teehee, funny girl. I may actually get back to knitting in the fall, I really want to try knitting some slipper socks in time for Christmas. Now though, I just need a good break from it.

  • Bernie says:

    Math? You have you do math when you knit? No wonder I won’t learn how to knit.
    The scarf is kick ass!

  • Sheri says:

    Well, if it’s any consolation it’s usually just basic math,counting, adding and subtracting. They have little gadgets that you can slide onto your needle to mark rows which is easier than what I’ve been doing, but I never considered myself a serious knitter. I think I qualify now though. 😀

    And thanks, it does kick ass doesn’t it? Daughter thinks so and that’s what matters.

  • Cate says:

    I am even more impressed having seen the military like precision that has gone into this scarf!

    My hero!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 36 subtract 15 or Thinking Backwards at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

