Happy Canada Day to Me and Happy Fourth of July to You

July 4, 2011 § 3 Comments

I missed my annual Canada Day post. Things are a little…well, turbulent right now and that’s why I’ve been MIA the last week or so.

We had a wonderful Canada Day spent with our friends, albeit separately, Daughter and I with our besties and Hubby with his.  The weather was awesome and even from as far west as we were we could hear the bugles and bagpipes welcoming the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge to our city.  As indifferent as we may often come off, I think most Canadians feel honoured by such a visit.

Did I make any effort to brave downtown Ottawa to get a glimpse?  No way, even without such important guests, downtown Ottawa on Canada Day is mayhem.  I’m too old for that shit.


Daughter took this pic of me decked out in my Canadian Chicks Rule shirt and Maple Leaf temporary tattoo on my face. That’s as festive as I got and I spent the afternoon lounging on my friend’s deck chatting and soaking up the sun.

It’s not camping or being at the cottage but it was still a good time.  Besides, we did make good use of the weekend and went out and looked at, and bought, a tent trailer and soon we’ll be towing our summer home to a nearby campground.  Yay!

Finally, to my American friends, I hope you are all having an equally amazing, fun and friend filled Fourth of July!

😀


§ 3 Responses to Happy Canada Day to Me and Happy Fourth of July to You

  • Shady Lady says:

    Happy Canada Day, Sheri! You look quite festive to me…much more than I look today. 😉

    Congratulations on the tent trailer!! I’m so excited for you and can’t wait to hear about all your camping adventures!!!

  • Sheri says:

    Thanks Shady! Hope you had a good time. Me too, as long as they’re not about how wet we got or how a raccoon got into the trailer. Hehe. 😀

  • Cate says:

    Very cool get up 🙂
    And I can really see the resemblance between you and your girl in this pic.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Happy Canada Day to Me and Happy Fourth of July to You at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

