I Missed Week Twenty-Nine

July 23, 2011 § 4 Comments

I know I missed the Project 2011 post this week.  Sorry guys, but there just wasn’t much to report.  I’m still working on my knitted/leather boots but it’s going very slowly.

It’s very hard to sit still with a ball of wool in your lap when you’re going through a heat wave.  Though it’s not as hot as it was Thursday (47 C with the humidex) we haven’t had a whole lot of relief since then.  The standard temperatures are still in the low thirties with the humidexes in the mid to high range.

Right now I’d kill for 27C  without humidity.  It would feel like Spring compared to this (rolling eyes – that’s 80F).

Anyway, we were supposed to take the new camper out for its first test spin this weekend but with the forecast of constant heat and humidity, we opted to stay home near the pool.

We had to keep in mind that our beloved tent trailer is thirty years old and the canvas is just that…real, old fashioned, thick as plaster, canvas.  It’s not made of the modern polyester/nylon stuff that “breathes”.  Even though it holds up very well, better than the modern stuff I’m sure, in heavy winds and rain – as last week’s sudden storm attested to – I know for sure that in the heat, it is no refuge but instead more akin to a slow cooker.

In all honesty, as much as I’m dying to get out camping, it was kind of a no-brainer.

😀

§ 4 Responses to I Missed Week Twenty-Nine

  • MrCrow says:

    At this rate, it’ll be October before it cools down. Hmmm…camping at Christmas? That’d be different 😀

  • Shady Lady says:

    I am so sorry you guys are suffering through such insane heat! Sending cooling thoughts your way…

  • Sheri says:

    MrCrow – We did go camping for my birthday one year…late November. It was just you and me though and we rarely left the cabin so… 😉

    Shady – Thanks for your sympathies, it is pretty brutal. They’re just such uncommon temps for our area. A normal hot summer for us is 26 – 28C with a humidex in the low to mid 30s.

    This really is insane heat for us.

  • Cate says:

    Hope that it is not an indication of what we are to expect for our summer!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I Missed Week Twenty-Nine at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

