Project 2011 – Part Deux – Wherein I Admit That I Do Things the Hard Way

July 29, 2011 § 4 Comments

A follow up to yesterday’s Project 2011 post.

Hard life eh? Time to just float around in the pool and blog incessently.  And no, this bit has nothing to do with the title of my post, I’m digressing.  But really, what’s the point in working hard for nice things if you’re not going to make the time to enjoy said nice things?  That’s my philosophy and it’s working out rather well for me.  What with the humidity and no air conditioning.  Yes, I like my pool…there I said it.  😀

Anyway, the point of this post is to share a revelation I had about why I’m making so little progress on the knitted/leather boots I’m working on.  Seriously, I set myself ONE measly goal for the rest of year and I can’t seem to get motivated.

I have the idea, a sketch, leather pieces already cut and waiting with no shortage of wool.  What I don’t have is a clue what I’m doing and it occurred to me that I might have better luck if I start with a fabric boot.  It’ll take much less time and having made countless lined bodices, gowns, capes and chemises, I also have a lot of experience with piecing curvatures and working with layers.  It makes sense that I should start in more familiar territory and then move on to the knitting.


So, I gathered up some bits (sorry for the fuzzy photo) and using a template I made of my own foot – yes, I’m part Sasquatch – I’m going to fashion myself a pair of fabric boots in the same design that I had in mind for the knitted/leather ones.

I should have at least one boot ready for next week’s post.

§ 4 Responses to Project 2011 – Part Deux – Wherein I Admit That I Do Things the Hard Way

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Project 2011 – Part Deux – Wherein I Admit That I Do Things the Hard Way at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

