Why Planning Ahead Is A Good Thing

July 30, 2011 § 3 Comments

So we bought a camper/trailer on impulse.


Well, we did spend a lot of time over the years talking about how great it would be to have one, especially as we lie in a nylon tent feeling the air leak slowly out of the blow up mattress we were going to have to sleep on for the night.

In between we had the fortune to be friends with folks who had their own cottages and are very generous in sharing of said summer getaways, but they still weren’t “ours”.

And so though we talked about a lot about buying a camper, we really did buy it before we gave any thought to exactly WHERE we would take it once we got it.

Which is exactly why I’m sitting here on Saturday evening of the August long weekend writing a blog post instead of in the middle of the woods living here…


for three days.  *sigh*  We got so caught up in just buying, making sure the electrical works, cleaning and stocking it that we left making reservations for a campsite too late.  We called half  a dozen local campsites and they were booked solid.

It’s true we may have found somewhere further away but we’ve never taken this camper beyond our driveway.  We’re not about to take a test run more than an hour away from home.  So we just wait until next weekend when people’s thoughts go back to work and getting ready for school (snicker) and we get the pick of the lot for next season.

In the meantime, I’ve already made progress with my fabric boot and have started hand stitching together the muslin layer.


I always hand stitch when I don’t know what I’m doing.  It’s waaaay easier to undo hand stitches than machine ones.  I’m also using pink thread because it contrasts and also easier to undo.

I may or may not use the muslin template in the finished boot, right now I’m just trying to create a workable pattern.

Honestly, I’ve made a lot of clothes and created my share of patterns – albeit of the simpler medieval sort – but the foot has to be the most complex part of the body to dress.  I’ve met myself a challenge.

Still I’m excited about it, even more now that I’m actually making tangible progress.

See, why planning ahead is a good thing.

§ 3 Responses to Why Planning Ahead Is A Good Thing

  • Shady Lady says:

    Oops! I guess a little planning would’ve helped… I am quite the planner, but not so good at the spontaneous stuff. Great progress on the boots!!

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – Yep, could have used a little more forethought on the campsite front. Thanks, the fabric boot is coming along much faster than the knitted one.

    😀

  • Cate says:

    Hey – camping outside of school hols has got to be waaaaay better than during them, so see it as a blessing 🙂

    Am fascinated with your boot progress!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Why Planning Ahead Is A Good Thing at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

