Camping Food

August 2, 2011 § 2 Comments

I created a new category called Camping.  I predict I’ll be using it a lot over the next few weeks.

Since I’m sure you’re all sick to death of hearing about my trailer now, I’ve decided to start posting about camping gear/food that I am stocking it with.  What???  Fine, feel free to skip this post if you’re already bored.  😉

Today’s entry is a recipe for a camping food staple that I didn’t even think of adding to our repertoire until this year.  Not sure why frankly because it’s an awesome idea for a lightweight, just add water meal.

DRY SOUP MIX – A GENERAL RECIPE


Okay, here I’ve got some vegetable bouillon*, small pasta shells, dried red lentils, dried peas, dehydrated chopped onion, dehydrated chopped chives and powdered coconut milk.

There are a ton of recipes out there for this kind of dry soup mix and I never did set my mind to any particular one. I got the jist of the ratios and proportions from the recipes I researched and then went shopping to find ingredients.

For My Dry Soup Mix I’m using

1/3 cup vegetable bouillon* (or substitute)
1/2 cup of dried red lentils
1/2 cup of dried green peas
1/4 cup of dehydrated chopped onion
2 tblsp of dehydrated chopped chives
1/2 cup of powdered coconut milk (you can substitute with skim milk powder or omit)
1 cup of small shell pasta (you can substitute with any small pasta or omit)

You can also substitute the pasta with rice or barley, the peas and lentils with any kind of bean and the vegetable bouillon for chicken or beef.  The possibilities are really endless with this kind of recipe.

My best estimate for cooking is about 4 cups of water per 1 cup of well blended mix
Cook over low medium heat until pasta (rice or barley) is tender – simmer until ready to eat

The fact that the ingredients are all dried and only take water and heat to turn them into a hearty meal is what makes this recipe really great camping food.

*A Note about the Bouillon – Store bought bouillon has a very high salt content, 440 mg per tsp – why don’t they just call it flavoured salt and be done with it?  Anyway, I’m going to see if there’s a way I can substitute their “concoction” with my own spices for a similar, but sodium reduced, effect.

§ 2 Responses to Camping Food

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Camping Food at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

