Camp Food – Leftover Hamburgers Make Awesome Stew

August 9, 2011 § 6 Comments


I absolutely LOVE cooking outdoors, I always find the food tastes better when we’re camping.  But then, I like airplane and hospital food too.  😉   Seriously though, I think it’s the lack of walls and the sheer abundance of fresh air.  Standing over a hot stove outside when it’s humid is a lot better than behind stuck inside a house doing the same thing.

As we were going to be gone for less than 48 hours, I had only one major meal to concern myself with and that was Saturday’s dinner.  Preferring to use something we already had instead of going out and spending money, I found some leftover cooked hamburgers in the freezer.

Not sure what exactly I was going to do with it, I relied on my creativity and tossed them into the cooler.  I then went through the pantry and fridge and found a can of diced tomatoes and a couple of small green peppers.  Aha! I knew what I was going to make…

Leftover Hamburger Stew

In a medium size pot on low heat I melted about a tablespoon of butter and cooked 1 small diced onion and 2 small chopped green pepper.  I added 1 tablespoon of homemade Italian Spice Mix* and continued cooking until the peppers were tender and then added the large can of diced tomatoes.

While that continued cooking on low, I cut up the (now thawed) cooked hamburgers into small cubes and added that to the sauce.  I turned up the heat and cooked it for about 20 minutes and then added another tablespoon of the spice mix and a small can of tomato paste, mixing well.

I let that simmer for another 15 minutes then covered and let stand.  It sat for most of the afternoon so I heated it up on med high and brought it to a boil for 5 minutes stirring constantly and then turned it to simmer for another 10 minutes.

It was amazing!  Somehow I know that it tasted all the better for being outdoors…and that I used leftovers in such a clever and tasty way.   😀

*Italian Spice Mix – Instead of bringing along a whole lot of different spices for camping which can be a pain to store, I put some oregano, basil, thyme, pepper, onion powder and garlic powder all in one container and shook it up.  Tada!  Instant all-purpose spice mix.

§ 6 Responses to Camp Food – Leftover Hamburgers Make Awesome Stew

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Camp Food – Leftover Hamburgers Make Awesome Stew at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

