Busy Weekend

August 19, 2011 § Leave a comment

Hubby took off this morning for his buddy’s bachelor weekend.  Yes, WEEKEND!  A group of guys rented a chalet at Mt. Tremblant in Quebec and are spending the weekend partying, golfing, partying, sleeping, golfing and more partying.

You get the idea. Hubby was actually a little surprised I was okay with him taking off for the whole weekend.

“No really Hon, go. Have a wonderful time.”

Seriously, after 17 years together, an occasional weekend away from each other is a good thing.  Besides, there are still a few good camping weekends left where I can take off with my girlfriend up to her cottage.   😛

So Daughter and I have the whole house for the whole weekend to ourselves.  Well, not the whole weekend because on Sunday we’re having our annual 6-Birthdays-In-One BBQ.  Normally it’s actually 7 birthdays but Daughter got her own Sweet Sixteen party this year.

Yep, you read that right.  Between July 12th and September 8th (both being my kids’ birthdays) we have 7 birthdays.  We are celebrating my Dad, Hubby, all 3 of my nephews and Son’s birthday all in one big pool party.

It’s exhausting and expensive but it’s still much easier to pull off than 6 separate parties.  So, in fact, Hubby being away for the weekend actually makes it easier to focus on the task at hand and get all the prep done.

Plus he’ll be home in time to man the BBQ and I don’t have to worry about blowing myself or anyone else up.  Yes, I’m afraid of the BBQ.  😛

Still, I’m kind of looking forward to Monday when we have some semblance of normality return. Except for the dog.

Oh, did I forget to mention we’re also dog sitting for the next ten days as well?  Yeah.

It’s been a very busy, crazy summer and in all honesty, I’m already beginning to yearn for the subtle slow down of autumn.

 

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Busy Weekend at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

